Sylvia Engdahl is an American author of science fiction novels, for young adults and adults. Her novel Enchantress from the Stars was named an 1971 Newbery Honor book. Not only does she write about space, but she also advocates for space colonization, maintaining a space section on her own website and a Space Quotes website as well. Sylvia lives in Eugene, Oregon.

Sylvia Engdahl made her debut as a published author with the aforementioned novel Enchantress from the Stars. Below is a list of Sylvia Engdahl’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sylvia Engdahl releases a new book at

Publication Order of Children Of The Star Books

This Star Shall Abide / Heritage of the Star (1972)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains (1973)Description / Buy at
The Doors of the Universe (1981)Description / Buy at
Children of the Star - The Complete Trilogy (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Elana Books

Enchantress from the Stars (1970)Description / Buy at
The Far Side of Evil (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hidden Flame Books

Stewards of the Flame (2007)Description / Buy at
Promise of the Flame (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rising Flame Books

Defender of the Flame (2013)Description / Buy at
Herald of the Flame (2014)Description / Buy at
Envoy of the Flame (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Journey Between Worlds (1970)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Subnuclear Zoo (With: Rick Roberson) (1977)Description / Buy at
Tool for Tomorrow (With: Rick Roberson) (1979)Description / Buy at
The Planet-Girded Suns (2012)Description / Buy at
Reflections on Enchantress from the Stars and Other Essays (2019)Description / Buy at
From This Green Earth: Essays on Looking Outward (2019)Description / Buy at
The Future of Being Human and Other Essays (2020)Description / Buy at
Selected Essays on Enchantress from the Stars and More (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Universe Ahead(1975)Description / Buy at
Anywhere, Anywhen: Stories of Tomorrow(1976)Description / Buy at

Note: Heritage of the Star was also published as This Star Shall Abide. The anthology Universe Ahead was co-edited by Rick Roberson.

If You Like Sylvia Engdahl Books, You’ll Love…

Sylvia Engdahl Synopsis: Journey Between Worlds is a standalone title by Sylvia Engdahl. Eighteen-year-old Melinda Ashley didn’t have “Visit Mars” on her bucket list. She had a simple life planned out – marry Ross and become a teacher. But when her estranged father convinces her to take an interplanetary vacation, she finds herself tempted to leave behind her comfortable existence on Earth. Mars wasn’t like she thought it’d be like, and when she meets Alex Preston, a second-generation Martian colonist, she finds her plans changing quickly.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sylvia Engdahl Books

Leave a Reply