Thomas Benigno is an American author and lawyer, best known for his The Good Lawyer series. He went to the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law where he was one of the top lawyers in his class. He made Associate Attorney early thanks to the recommendation of his New York Legal Aid Society Law Professor Barry Scheck and served as associate attorney on some high profile cases including the infamous “Spiderman Rapist” case in which he based his first novel.

He did some work for the Legal Aid Society for three years before leaving to start his own practice. He later decided to stop practicing criminal law, instead choosing to focus on business and real estate law. The time at the Legal Aid Society turned out to be invaluable as it is a big inspiration for his novels.

Get notified when Thomas Benigno releases a new book at

Publication Order of Good Lawyer Books

The Good Lawyer (2012)Description / Buy at
The Criminal Lawyer (2016)Description / Buy at
The Criminal Mind (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thomas Benigno Books, You’ll Love…

Thomas’ first novel is The Good Lawyer which has drawn favorable comparisons to early John Grisham novels. This book introduces us to the titular character, Nick Mannino, as a young legal Aid attorney who is tasked with defending a teacher’s assistant accused of child molestation. Nick starts to piece together the case and he gets into quite the ethical dilemma which will challenge his standing as a “good lawyer”. This is quite the legal thriller and feels very “ripped” from the headlines probably because it basically was.

His follow-up book is called The Criminal Lawyer and it is as much a thriller as it is a mystery. It involves a serial killer in Long Island who is dumping the beach with the bones of his female victims. Feeling a sense of New York pride while being haunted by his family secret, has Nick desperately wanting to solve this case.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thomas Benigno Books

Leave a Reply