Thomas Mullen is an American author of historical mystery novels. His novels have gained such accolades as an NPR Best Book of the Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Southern Book Prize, Indies Choice Book Award, two Crime Writers Assocation Dagger Awards, USA Today Best Debut Novel, and the James Fenimore Cooper Prize for excellence in historical fiction. Thomas lives in Atlanta, Georgia with his wife and sons.

Thomas Mullen made his debut as a published author in 2006 with the standalone novel The Last Town on Earth – winner of the aforementioned Best Debut Novel award. Below is a list of Thomas Mullen’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Thomas Mullen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Darktown Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Town on Earth (2006)Description / Buy at
The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers (2010)Description / Buy at
The Revisionists (2011)Description / Buy at
Blind Spots (2023)Description / Buy at
The Rumor Game (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thomas Mullen Books, You’ll Love…

Thomas Mullen Synopsis: The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers is a standalone title by Thomas Mullen. Set during the Depression, Jason and Whit Fireson are bank robbers nicknamed “The Firefly Brothers” who have achieved cult status due to their fight against a system that is broken. Late one night in August 1934, following a yearlong crime spree across the Midwest, the Firefly Brothers are forced into a police shootout and die in a hail of bullets. Or do they? Jason and Whit’s girlfriends – Darcy, a wealthy socialite, and Veronica, a hardened survivor – struggle between grief and an unyielding belief that the Firesons are alive. Wild rumors spread that the bandits are still at large. Through it all, the Firefly Brothers remain as charismatic, unflappable, and as mythical as the American dream itself, racing to find the women they love and to make sense of a world in which all has come unmoored.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thomas Mullen Books

Leave a Reply