Thorne Smith (1892-1934) was an American novelist of comic fantasy novels. His work involves lots of sex, drinking, supernatural transformations and racy illustrations. He was born in Annapolis, Maryland, and attended Dartmouth College. He went onto work as a part-time advertising agent (where he didn’t earn much money), until the creation of his Topper character brought him considerable success.

Thorne Smith made his debut as a published author in 1918 with the novel Biltmore Oswald. Below is a list of Thorne Smith’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Biltmore Oswald Books

Publication Order of Topper Books

Topper (1926)Description / Buy at
The Jovial Ghosts: The Misadventures of Topper (1926)Description / Buy at
Topper Takes a Trip (1932)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dream's End (1927)Description / Buy at
The Stray Lamb (1929)Description / Buy at
Did She Fall? (1930)Description / Buy at
Lazy Bear Lane (1931)Description / Buy at
The Night Life of the Gods (1931)Description / Buy at
Turnabout (1931)Description / Buy at
Rain in the Doorway (1933)Description / Buy at
Skin and Bones (1933)Description / Buy at
The Glorious Pool (1934)Description / Buy at
The Passionate Witch (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Smokey Lady in Knickers (2011)Description / Buy at
Yonder's Henry (2015)Description / Buy at
The Bishop’s Jaegers (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Haunts and By-Paths, and Other Poems (2011)Description / Buy at

Note: The novel The Passionate Witch was co-authored by Norman Matson.

If You Like Thorne Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Thorne Smith Synopses: The Stray Lamb is a standalone novel by Thorne Smith. Mr. Lamb is an ordinary man who leads an ordinary life, until a chance encounter leads to him experiencing the world through the eyes of various animals. Lamb lurches from one mishap to another, reeling from his wife’s abandonment and the actions of his headstrong daughter and reveling in the new opportunities that his excursions into animal form provide.

Turnabout by Thorne Smith follows a married couple who fall prey to the tricks of an Egyptian idol that causes them to switch bodies. The novel was later made into a movie and sitcom, and also inspired the final episode of Star Trek: The Original Series.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thorne Smith Books

Leave a Reply