Garth Nix
Garth Nix is an Australian author of children’s and young adult fantasy novels. He writes the Old Kingdom, Seventh Tower and Keys to the Kingdom, as well as the Troubletwisters series (with Sean Williams). Aside from being an author, Garth has worked in several capacities in the literary field, including as a bookseller, book sales representative, publicist, editor, marketing consultant and literary agent. He also spent five years as a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth lives in Sydney, Australia with his wife and children.

Garth Nix became a published author in 1991 with the novel The Ragwitch. He became a full-time novelist in 2001. Below is a list of Garth Nix’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Garth Nix releases a new book at

Publication Order of Old Kingdom Books

Sabriel (1995)Description / Buy at
Lirael (2001)Description / Buy at
Abhorsen (2003)Description / Buy at
The Creature in the Case (2005)Description / Buy at
Clairel (2014)Description / Buy at
To Hold the Bridge (2015)Description / Buy at
Goldenhand (2016)Description / Buy at
Terciel and Elinor (2021)Description / Buy at
To Hold the Bridge is a short story within a collection.

Chronological Order of Old Kingdom Books

Publication Order of Have Sword, Will Travel Books

(with Sean Williams)

Have Sword, Will Travel (2017)Description / Buy at
Let Sleeping Dragons Lie (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Left-Handed Booksellers of London Books

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London (2020)Description / Buy at
The Sinister Booksellers of Bath (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Keys to the Kingdom Books

Publication Order of The Seventh Tower Books

Publication Order of Shade's Children Books

Shade's Children (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Spirit Animals Books

(with Sean Williams)

Blood Ties (With: Sean Williams) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Troubletwisters Books

(with Sean Williams)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ragwitch (1990)Description / Buy at
A Confusion of Princes (2012)Description / Buy at
Newt's Emerald (2013)Description / Buy at
Frogkisser! (2017)Description / Buy at
Angel Mage (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Fire Above, Fire Below (2013)Description / Buy at
Dislocation Space (2019)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Somewhat Mythic Sword (2020)Description / Buy at
The Sisters of Saint Nicola of The Almost Perpetual Motion vs the Lurch (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Across the Wall: Tales of the Old Kingdom and Beyond (2005)Description / Buy at
Sir Hereward and Mister Fitz (2006)Description / Buy at
One Beastly Beast: Two Aliens, Three Inventors, Four Fantastic Tales (2007)Description / Buy at
To Hold the Bridge (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Aussie Bites Books

Serena and the Sea Serpent (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The X-Files: Young Adult Books

Bad Sign (By: Neal Shusterman) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Calusari (1997)Description / Buy at
Eve (By: Ellen Steiber) (1997)Description / Buy at
Our Town (By: Eric Elfman) (1997)Description / Buy at
Empathy (By: Ellen Steiber) (1997)Description / Buy at
Fresh Bones (By: Les Martin) (1997)Description / Buy at
Control (By: Cliff Nielsen,Everett Owens) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Host (By: Les Martin) (1997)Description / Buy at
Hungry Ghosts (By: Ellen Steiber) (1998)Description / Buy at
Howlers (By: Everett Owens) (1998)Description / Buy at
Dark Matter (By: Easton Royce) (1999)Description / Buy at
Grotesque (By: Ellen Steiber) (1999)Description / Buy at
Quarantine (By: Les Martin) (1999)Description / Buy at
Regeneration (By: Everett Owens) (1999)Description / Buy at
Haunted (By: Ellen Steiber) (2000)Description / Buy at
Miracle Man (By: Terry Bisson) (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Into Shadow Books

The Six Deaths of the Saint (By: Alix E. Harrow) (2022)Description / Buy at
Undercover (By: Tamsyn Muir) (2022)Description / Buy at
What the Dead Know (By: Nghi Vo) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Garden (By: Tomi Adeyemi) (2022)Description / Buy at
Persephone (By: Lev Grossman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Out of the Mirror, Darkness (2022)Description / Buy at
The Candles Are Burning (By: Veronica G. Henry) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fantastic Worlds(1999)Description / Buy at
Love and Sex(2001)Description / Buy at
Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)Description / Buy at
Kids' Night In(2005)Description / Buy at
Wizards / Dark Alchemy(2007)Description / Buy at
Top Stories 2(2007)Description / Buy at
Midnight Feast(2007)Description / Buy at
Fast Ships, Black Sails(2008)Description / Buy at
Fantasy: The Best of the Year, 2008 Edition(2008)Description / Buy at
Twenty-First Annual Collection(2008)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Australian Science Fiction and Fantasy, Volume 4(2008)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 22(2008)Description / Buy at
The Dragon Book(2009)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2009(2009)Description / Buy at
Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd(2009)Description / Buy at
Legends of Australian Fantasy(2010)Description / Buy at
Teeth: Vampire Tales(2011)Description / Buy at
Happily Ever After(2011)Description / Buy at
Ghosts by Gaslight(2011)Description / Buy at
Under My Hat: Tales from the Cauldron(2012)Description / Buy at
After: Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia(2012)Description / Buy at
Fearie Tales(2013)Description / Buy at
Rogues(2014)Description / Buy at
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Nine(2014)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Seven(2015)Description / Buy at
Clarkesworld Magazine, Issue 115(2016)Description / Buy at
The Starlit Wood(2016)Description / Buy at
The Book of Swords: Part 1(2017)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2015(2017)Description / Buy at
The Unicorn Anthology(2017)Description / Buy at
Infinity Wars(2017)Description / Buy at
Three Sides of a Heart(2017)Description / Buy at
The Book of Magic(2018)Description / Buy at
Edited By(2020)Description / Buy at
Relics, Wrecks and Ruins(2021)Description / Buy at
World of Warcraft: Folk & Fairy Tales of Azeroth(2021)Description / Buy at
Shapers of Worlds Volume II(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Troubletwisters series and the novel Blood Ties were written with Sean Williams. Kids’ Night In also contains stories by Eoin Colfer, Annie Dalton, Michael Morpurgo, Darren Shan and Jacqueline Wilson. Midnight Feast also has stories by Meg Cabot, Eoin Colfer, Anthony Horowitz, Louise Rennison and Darren Shan.

If You Like Garth Nix Books, You’ll Love…

Garth Nix Synopsis: Fire Above, Fire Below is a 23-page short story by Garth Nix is about what happens when a dragon dies underneath a big city. Will the pact made years ago successfully resolve this unfortunate situation?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garth Nix Books

Leave a Reply