William Boyle is an American crime fiction author who is best known for his novels Gravesend, The Lonely Witness, and A Friend Is a Gift You Give Yourself. His books far drawn rave reviews for their gritty realism and his keen ear for dialect.

Boyle grew up in Brooklyn where some of his books are set, but he now lives in what he calls his adopted home of Oxford, Mississippi. His books have been very well received as Gravesend was nominated for the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière in France and The Lonely Witness was nominated for the Hammett Prize and the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière.

Get notified when William Boyle releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gravesend (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Don't Have No Mercy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lonely Witness (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Friend is a Gift You Give Yourself (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
City of Margins (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shoot the Moonlight Out (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mississippi Noir(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mojo Rising(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Outcast Hours(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like William Boyle Books, You’ll Love…

Gravesend sees “Ray Boy” Calabrese released from prison and there are some excited to see him while others want him dead. The thing that sent Ray Boy to prison helped cause a young man to die and now his brother, Conway, wants some revenge now that Ray Boy is released. The story also has Alessandra, a failing actress, who returns to Gravesend after the death of her mother. She’s sinking back into her old life and her life mirrors the life of Conway. The neighborhood really comes to life in this one as history, revenge, and desperation all combine for these lives.

The strangeness of friendship is at the center of A Friend Is a Gift You Give Yourself. The book sees a mob widow named Rena Ruggiero hit her neighbor in the head with an ashtray when he makes a move on her. This sets off an adventure where she takes his Impala and takes off to her daughter’s home. Only problem is, her daughter won’t take her. She ends up making friends with Lacey, a neighbor and former porn star. While Rena’s granddaughter Lucia is looking for a way out form her mother and her mother’s ex-boyfriend.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William Boyle Books

Leave a Reply