William J. Coughlin (1929-1992) was an American novelist of legal thrillers. In addition to being an author, Coughlin was a U.S. administrative judge based out of Detroit. His series character is Charley Sloan.

William J. Coughlin became a published author in 1968 with The Dividend Was Death. Below is a list of William J. Coughlin’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Charley Sloan Books

(with Walter Sorrells)

The Court (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of a Doubt (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Penalty (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Judgment (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Proof of Intent (With: Walter Sorrells) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dividend Was Death. (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Destruction Committee (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grinding Mill (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Stalking Man (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mark of Cain (As: Sean A. Key) (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Day of Wrath (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cain's Chinese Puzzle (As: Sean A. Key) (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Twelve Apostles (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Her Father's Daughter (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Her Honor (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In The Presence of Enemies (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Heart of Justice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Any novels by William Jeremiah Coughlin published after 1992 was ghostwritten or written by a co-author. Proof of Intent was co-authored by Walter Sorrells.

No More Dreams was later published under the title The Court.

The Cain series books were written under the pen name of Sean A. Key.

If You Like William J. Coughlin Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William J. Coughlin Books

2 Responses to “Order of William J. Coughlin Books”

  1. Danarra Ban: 6 years ago

    You missed his first book, The Widow Wondered Why


  2. Jo: 9 years ago

    First shadow of doubt was different than one published later after his death it was changed a lot


Leave a Reply