The Asian Saga is a series of historical fiction by British author James Clavell. The series spans centuries all across Asia, starting in feudal Japan in the 17th century, to 19th century Hong Kong, World War II in Japan and Singapore and Iran in 1979. The idea of the story, according to Clavell, is to “tell the story of the Anglo-Saxon in Asia.”

The Asian Saga began with King Rat, published in 1962, and concluded after five novels in 1993 with Gai-Jin. The series was published out of chronological order but can be read in either order. Below is a list of James Clavell’s Asian Saga books in order of publication and in chronological order:

Publication Order of Asian Saga Books

Chronological Order of Asian Saga Books

Shogun(1975)Description / Buy at
Tai-Pan(1966)Description / Buy at
Gai-Jin(1993)Description / Buy at
King Rat(1962)Description / Buy at
Noble House(1981)Description / Buy at
Whirlwind(1986)Description / Buy at
Escape(1995)Description / Buy at
Escape is an abridged and rewritten version of Whirlwind.

If You Like Asian Saga Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Asian Saga Books

Leave a Reply