Ballad by Sharyn McCrumb
The Ballad series is a series of Appalachian fiction novels by American novelist Sharyn McCrumb. The series combines the legends, geography and issues of Appalachia to tell its stories. Set during contemporary times, each book uses an event from the history of the region as part of the tale.

Sharyn McCrumb began her Ballad series in 1990 with the novel If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Sharyn McCrumb’s Ballad novels in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Sharyn McCrumb releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ballad Books

If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O(1990)Description / Buy at
The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter(1992)Description / Buy at
She Walks These Hills(1994)Description / Buy at
The Rosewood Casket(1996)Description / Buy at
The Ballad of Frankie Silver(1997)Description / Buy at
The Songcatcher(2001)Description / Buy at
Ghost Riders(2003)Description / Buy at
The Devil Amongst the Lawyers(2010)Description / Buy at
The Ballad of Tom Dooley(2011)Description / Buy at
King's Mountain(2013)Description / Buy at
Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past(2014)Description / Buy at
Prayers the Devil Answers(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O was also released using the more abbreviated title of If Ever I Return.

If You Like Ballad Books, You’ll Love…

Ballad Synopsis: If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O by Sharyn McCrumb (aka If I Ever Return) is the first novel in McCrumb’s Ballad series. Sheriff Spencer Arrowood is in charge of keeping watch over his small town in Tennessee, and everything usually goes pretty smoothly… mostly. 60’s folk singer Peggy Muryan moves into the small town to find some peace and quiet while trying to make a comeback, but then receives a threatening postcard. Then, a local girl who bears a strong resemblance to Peggy goes missing.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Ballad Books

One Response to “Order of Ballad Books”

  1. Diana: 8 years ago

    Newest by Sharyn McCrumb in the Ballad Series is “Nora Bonesteel’s Christmas Past, #11 in the series, released in 2014. Coming soon will be #12, Prayers the Devil Answers, expected in May, 2016.


Leave a Reply