Canterbury Tales of Mystery and Murder by Paul Doherty
The Canterbury Tales (of Mystery and Murder) is a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Paul Doherty (aka P.C. Doherty). The Canterbury Tales is a series of re-tellings of stories by the pilgrims of real-life historical English poet Geoffrey Chaucer while they make the trek from London, England to Canterbury during the medieval era. The series involves supernatural themes.

Paul Doherty began his Canterbury Tales of Mystery and Murder series in 1993 with the novel An Ancient Evil. After a ten year-long hiatus, Doherty recently published a new novel in the series, entitled The Midnight Man, in 2012. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Paul Doherty’s Canterbury Tales books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Paul Doherty releases a new book at

Publication Order of Canterbury Tales Mysteries Books

An Ancient Evil(1994)Description / Buy at
A Tapestry of Murders(1994)Description / Buy at
A Tournament of Murders(1996)Description / Buy at
Ghostly Murders(1997)Description / Buy at
The Hangman's Hymn(1999)Description / Buy at
A Haunt of Murder(2002)Description / Buy at
The Midnight Man(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Canterbury Tales Books, You’ll Love…

Canterbury Tales of Mystery and Murder Synopses: In An Ancient Evil by P.C. Doherty (book 1 of the series), a Knight tells a story about an Oxfordshire-based cult that may be responsible for a series of horrible murders.

In The Hangman’s Hymn by Paul Doherty (book 5 of the Canterbury Tales series), Chaucer’s pilgrims stumble upon a shocking hanging. This causes the carpenter to tell a story of a Gloucester hangman whose punishment of three witches causes a series of revenge murders.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Canterbury Tales Books

Leave a Reply