Inspector Robert Colbeck Railway Detective by Edward Marston
Inspector Robert Colbeck is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by Welsh novelist Edward Marston (Keith Miles). The series is often referred to as the Railway Detective series. The series follows Scotland Yard Inspector Colbeck and partner Sergeant Victor Leeming during the 1850s. All of the novels are connected to the railways, which was a major part of Victorian England.

Edward Marston began his Inspector Robert Colbeck/Railway Detective series in 2004 with the novel The Railway Detective. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Edward Marston’s Inspector Robert Colbeck books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Edward Marston releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Robert Colbeck Books

The Railway Detective(2004)Description / Buy at
The Excursion Train(2005)Description / Buy at
The Railway Viaduct(2006)Description / Buy at
The Iron Horse(2007)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Brighton Express(2007)Description / Buy at
The Silver Locomotive Mystery(2009)Description / Buy at
Railway to the Grave(2010)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Line(2011)Description / Buy at
The Stationmaster's Farewell(2012)Description / Buy at
Peril on the Royal Train(2013)Description / Buy at
A Ticket to Oblivion(2014)Description / Buy at
Timetable of Death(2015)Description / Buy at
Signal for Vengeance(2016)Description / Buy at
The Circus Train Conspiracy(2017)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Railway Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at
Points of Danger(2019)Description / Buy at
Fear on the Phantom Special(2019)Description / Buy at
Slaughter in the Sapperton Tunnel(2020)Description / Buy at
Tragedy on the Branch Line(2021)Description / Buy at
The Railway Detective's Christmas Case(2022)Description / Buy at
Death at the Terminus(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Transit(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Robert Colbeck Collections

Inspector Colbeck's Casebook(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Robert Colbeck Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector Robert Colbeck Synopsis: The Railway Detective is the first novel in the Inspector Robert Colbeck Railway Detective series. In 1851, London is greatly anticipating the Great Expedition when an attack hits a mail train, which is looted and derailed. Inspector Colbeck must solve a puzzle of murder, blackmail and destruction. As he closes in on his suspects, the daughter of a train driver is unwillingly brought in as a pawn in the game.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Robert Colbeck Books

Leave a Reply