Sir Roger Shallot by Michael Clynes Paul Doherty
Sir Roger Shallot is the lead character in a series of historical mystery novels by English author Paul Doherty, originally written under the name Michael Clynes. The novels take place during the reign of King Henry VIII. Roger Shallot is a Falstaffian rogue who works as an agent for Cardinal Wolsey. The stories are somewhat exaggerated by Shallot, who tends to use some hyperbole in his first-person narration.

Paul Doherty began his Sir Roger Shallot series in 1991 with the novel The White Rose Murders. The series lasted six novels, concluding in 1996 with The Relic Murders. Below is a list of Paul Doherty/Michael Clynes’ Sir Roger Shallot Tudor Mysteries books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Michael Clynes releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sir Roger Shallot Books

The White Rose Murders(1991)Description / Buy at
The Poisoned Chalice(1992)Description / Buy at
The Grail Murders(1993)Description / Buy at
A Brood of Vipers(1994)Description / Buy at
The Gallows Murders(1995)Description / Buy at
The Relic Murders(1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sir Roger Shallot Books, You’ll Love…

Sir Roger Shallot Synopses: The White Rose Murders is the first Sir Roger Shallot Tudor Mystery by Michael Clynes (Paul Doherty). In 1517 England, Sir Roger Shallot must restore the desposed Queen Margaret to the throne, but murder causes plans to go awry and intrigue begins.

In A Brood of Vipers by Paul Doherty (book 4), Henry VIII is determined to find out the killer of a Florentine envoy’s identity, and so Shallot is summoned to London along with Benjamin Daunbey.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sir Roger Shallot Books

Leave a Reply