Cazalet Chronicles by Elizabeth Jane Howard
The Cazalet Chronicles is a series of family saga novels by English author Elizabeth Jane Howard. The series follows the Cazalet family beginning in 1937 until the late 1950s.

Elizabeth Jane Howard began her Cazalet Chronicles series in 1988 with the novel The Light Years. After the fourth novel, Casting Off in 1995, the series took a 19 year hiatus until All Change. All Change was published following the author’s death. Below is a list of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Cazalet Chronicles Books

If You Like Cazalet Chronicles Books, You’ll Love…

Cazalet Chronicles Synopsis: In The Light Years by Elizabeth Jane Howard (book 1 of the Cazalet Chronicles), it is 1937 and World War II is looming in Britain. The Cazalets plan their summer trip to their estate in Sussex. Edward is in love with his wife Villy, though he is far from faithful to her; Hugh was wounded in World War I; Rupert is deeply in love with Zoe, his child-bride; finally, Rachel is the spinster sister of the family.

Marking Time by Elizabeth Jane Howard is book 2 in the Cazalet Chronicles series. It is now September 1939, as World War II as hit Britain. Louise is now 16 years old and partying. Polly is 14 and dealing with adolescence. Clary’s father has been missing ever since Dunkirk, but she holds out hope that he is still alive.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Cazalet Chronicles Books

Leave a Reply