Elizabeth Jane Howard is an English novelist, best known for her Cazalet Chronicles family saga. The series is a quartet set in England during the war. It would be adapted to a BBC series called The Cazalets. Howard considers Jane Austen to be her main influence as an author.

Elizabeth Jane Howard became a published author in 1950 with The Beautiful Visit. It would go on to win the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. Below is a list of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Cazalet Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Beautiful Visit (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Long View (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sea Change (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
After Julius (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Something In Disguise (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Odd Girl Out (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Getting It Right (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Falling (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love All (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Amazing Adventures of Freddie Whitemouse (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

We Are For The Dark (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
MR Wrong (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Marriage (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Three Miles Up and Other Strange Stories (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Virago Book of Ghost Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: We Are For the Dark was co-authored by Robert Aickman.

If You Like Elizabeth Jane Howard Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth Jane Howard Books

Leave a Reply