Cecil Younger is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels by American novelist John Straley. Cecil Younger is a cynical, self-centered P.I. with a drinking problem. The series is set in Sitka, Alaska.

John Straley began his Cecil Younger series in 1992 with the novel The Woman Who Married a Bear. The novel won the 1993 Shamus Award. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of John Straley’s Cecil Younger books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when John Straley releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Cecil Younger Books

The Woman Who Married a Bear(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Curious Eat Themselves(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Music of What Happens(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Angels Will Not Care(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death and the Language of Happiness(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cold Water Burning(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Baby's First Felony(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
So Far and Good(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Cecil Younger Books, You’ll Love…

Cecil Younger Synopsis: The Woman Who Married a Bear is the first Cecil Younger novel by John Straley. Cecil Younger, local Alaskan investigator, is neither good at his job nor at turning down a drink. When an old Tlingit woman hires him to discover why her son, a big game guide, was murdered, he takes the case without much conviction that he’ll discover anything the police missed. He really just needs the extra cash. But after it becomes apparent that someone wants him dead, Younger finds himself traveling across Alaska to find out the truth in the midst of conspiracies, politics, and Tlingit mythology. High drama meets local color as Cecil Younger works to uncover the motive and identity of the killer.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Cecil Younger Books

Leave a Reply