Charlie Salter is the protagonist in a series of mystery/detective fiction novels by Canadian author Eric Wright. Charlie Salter is a Metropolitan Toronto police inspector who is in his forties.

Eric Wright began his Charlie Salter series in 1983 with the novel The Night the Gods Smiled. The series lasted for ten books, concluding in 1993 with the novel Death by Degrees. Below is a list of Eric Wright’s Charlie Salter books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Charlie Salter Books

The Night the Gods Smiled(1983)Description / Buy at
Smoke Detector(1984)Description / Buy at
Death in the Old Country(1985)Description / Buy at
A Single Death / The Man Who Changed His Name(1986)Description / Buy at
A Body Surrounded by Water(1987)Description / Buy at
A Question of Murder(1988)Description / Buy at
A Sensitive Case(1990)Description / Buy at
Final Cut(1991)Description / Buy at
A Fine Italian Hand(1992)Description / Buy at
Death by Degrees(1993)Description / Buy at
The Last Hand(2001)Description / Buy at

Note: A Single Death was also published as The Man Who Changed His Name.

If You Like Charlie Salter Books, You’ll Love…

Charlie Salter Synopses: Smoke Detector is the second book in Eric Wright’s Charlie Salter Mysteries. A shady second-hand furniture dealer dies in a blaze, and Inspector Charlie Salter has an arson and murder investigation on his plate.

A Question of Murder by Eric Wright is the sixth book in the Charlie Salter series. During a royal visit to Toronto, a car bomb explodes. This causes Charlie Salter to become involved in a murder enquiry which seems personal rather than political.

Final Cut by Eric Wright is the eighth book in the Charlie Salter series. When fake fire alarms, muggings, damaged equipment and stolen film threaten to close down production of a film, Inspector Charlie Salter investigates and uncovers greed, ambition, and revenge.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Charlie Salter Books

Leave a Reply