Peter Diamond by Peter Lovesey
Peter Diamond is the main character in a series of crime fiction/mystery novels by British author Peter Lovesey. Peter Diamond is based out of Bath, Somerset, England. Unlike Lovesey’s Sergeant Cribb historical mystery series, the series is set during contemporary times.

Peter Lovesey launched his Peter Diamond series in 1991 with the novel The Last Detective. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Peter Lovesey’s Peter Diamond books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Lovesey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Peter Diamond Books

The Last Detective(1991)Description / Buy at
Diamond Solitaire(1992)Description / Buy at
The Summons(1995)Description / Buy at
Bloodhounds(1996)Description / Buy at
Upon a Dark Night(1997)Description / Buy at
The Vault(1999)Description / Buy at
Diamond Dust(2002)Description / Buy at
The House Sitter(2003)Description / Buy at
The Secret Hangman(2007)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Hill(2009)Description / Buy at
Stagestruck(2011)Description / Buy at
Cop to Corpse(2012)Description / Buy at
The Tooth Tattoo(2013)Description / Buy at
The Stone Wife(2014)Description / Buy at
Down Among the Dead Men(2015)Description / Buy at
Another One Goes Tonight(2016)Description / Buy at
Beau Death(2017)Description / Buy at
Killing with Confetti(2019)Description / Buy at
The Finisher(2020)Description / Buy at
Diamond and the Eye(2021)Description / Buy at
Showstopper(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peter Diamond Books, You’ll Love…

Peter Diamond Synopsis: The Last Detective is the first Peter Diamond novel by Peter Lovesey. When a naked female body is found in the water near Bristol, Detective Superintendent Peter Diamond has to find a couple of missing letters that may have been written by Jane Austen and may have to go against orders in order to save a woman who has been wrongly accused by murder. The novel won the Anthony Boucher Award for Best Mystery Novel in 1992.

The second Peter Diamond novel is Diamond Solitaire by Peter Lovesey. An autistic Japanese child has been abducted in London and former detective Peter Diamond is tasked with finding him. The search has him paying a visit to Japan to look into the sumo wrestling world as well as to New York City.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Peter Diamond Books

Leave a Reply