Civil War by Newt Gingrich
The Civil War series is a series of alternate history novels by Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen. The series consists of the Gettysburg Trilogy and the standalone novel The Battle of the Crater. The series covers several “what-ifs” of the Civil War, including if General Lee could have defeated the Union Army at Gettysburg and gone on won the Civil War?

Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen began the Civil War series in 2003 with the novel Gettysburg. The Gettysburg Trilogy ended with the novel Never Call Retreat: Lee and Grant: The Final Victory, which was published in 2005. Gingrich, Forstchen and Albert S. Hanser added to the series with The Battle of the Crater in 2011. Below is a list of Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen’s Civil War books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Newt Gingrich releases a new book at

Publication Order of Civil War/Gettysburg Books

(By: Newt Gingrich, William R. Forstchen)

Gettysburg(2003)Description / Buy at
Grant Comes East(2004)Description / Buy at
Never Call Retreat(2005)Description / Buy at
The Battle of the Crater / To Make Men Free(2011)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Battle of the Crater was co-authored by Albert S. Hanser. The Battle of the Crater was also published as To Make Men Free.

If You Like Civil War Books, You’ll Love…

Civil War/Gettysburg Trilogy Synopsis: Gettysburg by Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen (book 1 of the series) is about a different reality that may have unfolded during the Battle of Gettysburg – what would have happened if Lee won?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Civil War Books

Leave a Reply