Crimson Worlds is a series of military science fiction novels and novellas by Jay Allan. Set in the 23rd Century, the series is about the struggle for dominance and space and control over the wealth and resources of the Rim. The wars are fought by the Marines, who are armed with AI-assisted, nuclear-powered armour.

Jay Allan began his Crimson Worlds series in 2012 with the novel Marines. The same year, he published the first prequel novella, Tombstone. In 2015, he began two different spin-off series – Refugees and Successors. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Jay Allan’s Crimson Worlds books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jay Allan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Books

Marines(2012)Description / Buy at
The Cost of Victory(2012)Description / Buy at
A Little Rebellion(2013)Description / Buy at
The First Imperium(2013)Description / Buy at
The Line Must Hold(2013)Description / Buy at
To Hell's Heart(2013)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Legions(2013)Description / Buy at
Even Legends Die(2014)Description / Buy at
The Fall(2014)Description / Buy at
Red Team Alpha(2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Prequel Novellas

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Refugees Books

Into the Darkness(2015)Description / Buy at
Shadows of the Gods(2015)Description / Buy at
Revenge of the Ancients(2016)Description / Buy at
Winds of Vengeance(2016)Description / Buy at
Storm of Vengeance(2018)Description / Buy at
Crusade of Vengeance(2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crimson Worlds Successors Books

If You Like Crimson Worlds Books, You’ll Love…

Crimson Worlds Synopses: Marines by Jay Allan is book 1 in the Crimson Worlds series. Erik Cain joined the marines as a way off of death row. It was a simple arrangement – enlist to fight in space and he would receive a full pardon. In the 23rd Century, assault troops go to war wearing AI-assisted, nuclear-powered armor, but the battles are still won by the blood and sweat of the men fighting them. From one brutal campaign to the next, Erik and his comrades fight an increasingly desperate war over the resource rich colony worlds that have become vital to the economies of Earth’s exhausted and despotic Superpowers. As Erik rises through the ranks he finally finds a home, first with the marines who fight at his side and later among the colonists – men and women who have dared to leave everything behind to build a new society on the frontier, one where the freedoms and rights lost long ago on Earth are preserved. Amidst the blood and death and sacrifice, Erik begins to wonder. Is he fighting the right war? Who is the real enemy?

Into the Darkness is the first book of Jay Allan’s Crimson Worlds Refugees series. Terrence Compton is one of Earth’s greatest admirals – considered to be a warrior almost without equal. Alongside his oldest friend and brilliant colleague, Augustus Garret, he and his forces have saved Earth from invasion by the genocidal robotic legions of the ancient First Imperium’s insane computer Regent. There is just one problem. The First Imperium was held back not by military victory, but by the disruption of the sole warp gate connecting the two domains… and Compton and 300 of his ships are trapped on the wrong side, surrounded by the Regent’s vast fleets and cut off from Earth. Pursued by their deadly enemy, Compton and his fleet must flee into the vast and unknown darkness of unexplored space, in search of safety, fuel, supplies… and ultimately a new home. The great admiral knows the one thing his people cannot do is seek a way back, a trail the enemy could follow to Earth. He is determined to prevent that from happening, even if the cost is dissension and mutiny. Their journey will take Compton and his people deep into the heart of the First Imperium, to the silent, windswept worlds where the ancient race that built the Regent once dwelled… and uncover the lost secrets of that great civilization’s mysterious fall 500,000 years ago.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Crimson Worlds Books

Leave a Reply