DC Smith is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by British novelist Peter Grainger. The title character in the series starts off as a former detective chief inspector who could have retired by now (and there are those that wish he had), but now works as a detective sergeant.

Peter Grainger began his DC Smith series in 2013 with the novel An Accidental Death. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Peter Grainger’s DC Smith books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Grainger releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of DC Smith Books

An Accidental Death(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
But For The Grace(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Luck and Judgement(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Persons of Interest(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In This Bright Future(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Rags of Time(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time and Tide(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Private Investigation(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Truth(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Camera Man(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like DC Smith Books, You’ll Love…

DC Smith Investigation Synopsis: An Accidental Death by Peter Grainger is the first DC Smith Investigation novel. The novel begins with the apparently accidental drowning of a British sixth form student in the Norfolk countryside. As a matter of routine, or so it seems, the case passes across the desk of Detective Sergeant Smith, recently returned to work after an internal investigation into another case that has led to tensions between officers at Kings Lake police headquarters. As an ex-Detective Chief Inspector, Smith could have retired by now, and it is clear that some of his superiors wish that he would do so. The latest trainee detective to work with him is the son of a member of his former team, and together they begin to unravel the truth about what happened to Wayne Fletcher. As the investigation continues, it becomes clear that there are more involved – some seem determined to prevent it, some seem to be taking too much interest. In the end Smith operates alone, having stepped too far outside standard procedures to ask for support. He knows that his own life might be at risk but he has not calculated on the life of his young assistant also being put in danger.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of DC Smith Books

Leave a Reply