Peter Grainger is a British author of crime fiction novels. He writes the DC Smith series. Peter’s always been a reader, but only got into reading crime by watching television shows featuring such detectives as Inspector Morse and Jack Frost. He finds many aspects of writing crime fiction to be easier than general fiction, but still spends significant time developing his characters, finding it paramount in writing any type of fiction.

Peter Grainger had already self-published three novels when he published his first crime fiction novel, An Accidental Death, in 2013. Below is a list of Peter Grainger’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Peter Grainger releases a new book at

Publication Order of DC Smith Books

An Accidental Death (2013)Description / Buy at
But For The Grace (2014)Description / Buy at
Luck and Judgement (2015)Description / Buy at
Persons of Interest (2015)Description / Buy at
In This Bright Future (2016)Description / Buy at
The Rags of Time (2016)Description / Buy at
Time and Tide (2017)Description / Buy at
A Private Investigation (2018)Description / Buy at
The Truth (2021)Description / Buy at
The Camera Man (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kings Lake Investigation Books

Publication Order of Willows and Lane Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Afon (As: Robert Partridge) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Rink (As: Robert Partridge) (2012)Description / Buy at
Asher (As: Robert Partridge) (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

(as Robert Partridge)

Paris and Other Love Stories (As: Robert Partridge) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Robert Partridge Collections

(as Robert Partridge)

Paris and Other Love Stories (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peter Grainger Books, You’ll Love…

Peter Grainger Synopsis: Lane is the first Willows and Lane novel by Peter Grainger. Emily Willows is middle-aged, widowed, wealthy and bored. When she mentions trying paragliding to her son over coffee one Friday, she has no inkling that within a few hours she will be facing the most terrifying situation of her life. Nor could she have guessed that she will be confronting it with the enigmatic young woman who moved in next door a few months ago and who has hardly spoken a word to her since. And neither of them has realised yet that after this meeting, their lives will never be the same again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Grainger Books

8 Responses to “Order of Peter Grainger Books”

  1. M-R Stringer: 1 year ago

    Peter pulled a bit of a swiftie: he wrote the first 3 of the Kings Lake series, and then another in the DC Smith series before the 4th in Kings Lake !!
    I wish I’d read “Roxanne” before reading “Truth”.
    Best writer I’ve come across in my favourite milieu – British police detective fiction. This bloke knows how to make characters real.


  2. Penny: 2 years ago

    Some of the best books I’ve read .
    Almost finished all series would like to read more from all series .


  3. Jo MacMichael: 2 years ago

    When will “Missing Pieces” be available on audible? I’ve listened to all the books twice and some of them three times. Love the character development.


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Joe – he posted on social media recently that May 10th is the expected date of the audio version.


  4. Gary Melchor: 2 years ago

    Thoroughly enjoyed the DC Smith series. I haven’t started the new King’s Lake series as I’m afraid DC Smith is not part of the team. shame. This is one of the best detective characters ever–please consider another DC Smith book.

    all the best,


    • Marilyn: 2 years ago

      although retired, DC still plays a role in the King’s Lake series and the other members of his team are there as well. Enjoy!


  5. Peter Dunn: 4 years ago

    A brand new Kings Lake book is just out, and I have just started it. The first 3 chapters of character introduction and building is once again brilliant. Strongly suggest anyone about to purchase any of these books start at the beginning of the series and stay in sequence for tying the cast together. These are the best procedurals I have read, and I have read a lot. As commenter Lajeanne Leveton says in this chain “….wish he were real” is exactly what I feel, and it applies to a growing number of characters, as well as D. C. Smith.

    Very highly recommended.


  6. Lajeanne Leveton: 5 years ago

    Love the D. C. Smith series of police procedurals, set in England. D.C. is a wonderful, kind man…..wish he were real!

    Highly recommended.


Leave a Reply