Detective Brenner by Wolf Haas
Detective Brenner is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by Austrian novelist Wolf Haas. Simon Brenner is a former Austrian police detective who is looking for an easier gig, such as working as a chauffeur. Unfortunately, bad luck seems to follow him regardless of his profession. Brenner is a decent “everyman” detective, armed with a sharp wit and compassion for victims. The character has appeared in several German language films, adapted from the novels.

Wolf Haas began his Detective Brenner series in German with the novel Auferstehung der Toten in 1996. This would later be translated as Resurrection by Annie Janusch in 2014. However, the first Detective Brenner novel to be published in English was Brenner and God, published in 2012. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Wolf Haas’ Detective Brenner books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Wolf Haas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Brenner Books

Resurrection(1996)Description / Buy at
The Bone Man(1997)Description / Buy at
Come, Sweet Death(1998)Description / Buy at
Brenner and God(2009)Description / Buy at
English translations are listed by initial Austrian publication date.

If You Like Detective Brenner Books, You’ll Love…

Detective Brenner Synopsis: The Bone Man is the second book in the Detective Brenner series by Wolf Haas. Brenner investigates a grisly murder at a beloved restaurant where snooty Viennese patrons go to eat… fried chicken. Out in the Austrian countryside restaurant, the human bones are found in a pile chicken bones ready for the grinder. But when former officer-turned-P.I. Simon Brenner shows up to investigate, the woman who hired him is nowhere to be found. Luckily, Brenner likes chicken, so he sticks around, but can find no one who will talk. And as he waits for the vanished manager, there’s one ghastly find after another.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Detective Brenner Books

Leave a Reply