Domesday Medieval Mysteries by Edward Marston
The Domesday series is a series of historical mystery novels by Welsh author Edward Marston (Keith Miles). The books follow Ralph Delchard and Gervase Bret, who are two officials who have been commissioned by William the Conqueror (William I of England) to look into some inconsistencies that have arisen while compiling the Domesday Book.

Edward Marston began his Domesday series with the novel The Wolves of Savernake, which was published in 1993. The series lasted 11 novels until its conclusion in 2000 with the novel The Elephants of Norwich. Below is a list of Edward Marston’s Domesday books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Edward Marston releases a new book at

Publication Order of Domesday Books

The Wolves of Savernake(1993)Description / Buy at
The Ravens of Blackwater(1994)Description / Buy at
The Dragons of Archenfield(1995)Description / Buy at
The Lions of the North(1996)Description / Buy at
The Serpents Of Harbledown(1996)Description / Buy at
The Stallions of Woodstock(1997)Description / Buy at
The Hawks of Delamere(1998)Description / Buy at
The Wildcats of Exeter(1998)Description / Buy at
The Foxes of Warwick(1999)Description / Buy at
The Owls of Gloucester(2000)Description / Buy at
The Elephants of Norwich(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Domesday Books, You’ll Love…

Domesday Synopsis: In The Wolves of Savernake by Edward Marston (book 1 of the Domesday series), two men who have been hired by William the Conqueror must ride through Savernake Forest in order to assess the charter and holdings of Bedwyn Abbey for taxation. Ralph Delchard is a Norman horseman, while his partner is a young Chancery clerk by the name of Gervase Bret. In the forest, they find a miller called Alric’s body, who has been killed by a wolf. But that is not the last murder of its kind that occurs…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Domesday Books

Leave a Reply