Future History is a series of science fiction books by American author Robert A. Heinlein. The series ranges from the mid-20th century until the early 23rd century. The series was nominated for a Hugo Award in 1966 for the Best All-Time series, but lost to the Greater Foundation series by Isaac Asimov.

The first published novel in Heinlein’s Future History series was Methuselah’s Children in 1941, although the first novel in chronological order is The Man Who Sold the Moon. There are eight novels in the series, ending with 1978’s The Notebooks of Lazarus Long (actually a chapbook). Below is a list of Robert A. Heinlein’s Future History books in order of when they were originally published (with a reference on their chronological order):

Publication Order of Future History/Heinlein Timeline Books

Misfit(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Methuselah's Children(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Man Who Sold the Moon(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Green Hills of Earth(1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Revolt in 2100(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Orphans of the Sky(1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Past Through Tomorrow(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of World As Myth Books

Time Enough for Love(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Number of the Beast(1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cat Who Walks Through Walls(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
To Sail Beyond the Sunset(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Heinlein’s Future History Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Future History Books

Leave a Reply