His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
His Dark Materials is a series of high fantasy/sci-fi novels by English author Philip Pullman. The series follows two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry as they travel across parallel universes and encounter things such as witches and armoured polar bears. The series was written for young adults, but can also be read by adults. The first novel in the series, The Golden Compass (aka Northern Lights) was adapted to film in 2007.

Philip Pullman began the His Dark Materials series in 1995 with Northern Lights, which was published as The Golden Compass in North America. The series is truly a trilogy (concluding with 1999’s The Amber Spyglass), with two companion books added on at the end. Below is a list of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Philip Pullman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of His Dark Materials Books

Northern Lights / The Golden Compass(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Subtle Knife(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Amber Spyglass(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lyra's Oxford(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Once Upon a Time in the North(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Serpentine(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Imagination Chamber(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Collectors(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of His Dark Materials Graphic Novels

(By: Philip Pullman, Stéphane Melchior-Durand)

The Golden Compass: The Graphic Novel, Volume 1(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Golden Compass: The Graphic Novel, Volume 2(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Subtle Knife Graphic Novel(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Northern Lights was published in North America as The Golden Compass. The His Dark Materials graphic novel series is adapted by Stephane Melchior.

If You Like His Dark Materials Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of His Dark Materials Books

Leave a Reply