Inspector Carlyle is the central character in a series of crime fiction novels by British author James Craig. John Carlyle is an inspector with the Metropolitan Police of London, working out of the Charing Cross police station. Craig got the original concept for the character after reading A Florentine Death by Michele Giuttari. Although London is over 650 sq. miles, full of over 8 million people, the series is mostly set in and around Covent Garden, allowing Craig to use such famous London landmarks as Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace.

Inspector John Carlyle made his debut in the novel London Calling, published in 2011. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of James Craig’s Inspector Carlyle books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when James Craig releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Carlyle Books

London Calling(2011)Description / Buy at
Never Apologise, Never Explain / Time of Death(2012)Description / Buy at
Buckingham Palace Blues(2012)Description / Buy at
The Enemy Within(2012)Description / Buy at
The Circus / The Criminals We Deserve(2013)Description / Buy at
Then We Die(2013)Description / Buy at
A Man of Sorrows(2014)Description / Buy at
Shoot to Kill(2014)Description / Buy at
Sins of the Fathers(2015)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Hero(2015)Description / Buy at
Acts of Violence(2017)Description / Buy at
All Kinds of Dead(2017)Description / Buy at
This is Where I Say Goodbye(2018)Description / Buy at
Dying Days(2019)Description / Buy at
Into the Valley(2020)Description / Buy at
Circus Games(2021)Description / Buy at
The Taste of Blood(2022)Description / Buy at
The Lesson(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Carlyle Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Carlyle Books

Leave a Reply