The Inspector West series is a series of crime fiction novels by English novelist John Creasey. Roger West is a good-looking detective inspector with Scotland Yard. The series follows him throughout his career and life.

John Creasey began his Inspector West series in 1942 with the novel Inspector West Takes Charge. The series ran for 43 novels, ending in 1978 with A Sharp Rise in Crime. Below is a list of John Creasey’s Inspector West books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector West Books

Inspector West Takes Charge(1942)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Leaves Town / Go Away To Murder(1943)Description / Buy at
Inspector West at Home / Apostle of Gloom(1944)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Regrets(1945)Description / Buy at
Holiday for Inspector West(1946)Description / Buy at
Battle for Inspector West(1948)Description / Buy at
Triumph for Inspector West / The Case Against Paul Raeburn(1948)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Kicks Off / Sport for Inspector West(1949)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Alone(1950)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Cries Wolf / The Creepers(1950)Description / Buy at
A Case for Inspector West / The Figure in the Dusk(1951)Description / Buy at
Puzzle for Inspector West / The Dissemblers(1951)Description / Buy at
Inspector West at Bay / The Blind Spot(1952)Description / Buy at
A Gun for Inspector West / Give a Man a Gun(1953)Description / Buy at
Send Superintendent West / Send Inspector West(1953)Description / Buy at
A Beauty for Inspector West / The Beauty Queen Killer(1954)Description / Buy at
Inspector West Makes Haste / The Gelignite Gang(1955)Description / Buy at
Two for Inspector West / Murder: One, Two, Three(1955)Description / Buy at
Parcels for Inspector West / Death of a Postman(1956)Description / Buy at
A Prince for Inspector West / Death of an Assassin(1956)Description / Buy at
Find Inspector West / Doorway to Death / The Trouble at Saxby's(1957)Description / Buy at
Accident for Inspector West / Hit and Run(1957)Description / Buy at
Murder, London - New York(1958)Description / Buy at
Strike for Death / The Killing Strike(1958)Description / Buy at
Death of a Racehorse(1959)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Innocent Victims(1959)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Line(1960)Description / Buy at
Death in Cold Print(1961)Description / Buy at
The Scene of the Crime(1961)Description / Buy at
Policeman's Dread(1962)Description / Buy at
Hang the Little Man(1963)Description / Buy at
Look Three Ways at Murder(1964)Description / Buy at
Murder, London - Australia(1967)Description / Buy at
Murder, London - South Africa(1967)Description / Buy at
So Young to Burn(1967)Description / Buy at
The Executioners(1967)Description / Buy at
Murder, London - Miami(1969)Description / Buy at
A Part for a Policeman(1970)Description / Buy at
Alibi / Alibi for Inspector West(1971)Description / Buy at
A Splinter of Glass(1972)Description / Buy at
The Theft of Magna Carta(1973)Description / Buy at
The Extortioners(1974)Description / Buy at
A Sharp Rise in Crime(1978)Description / Buy at

Notes: Inspector West Leaves Town was also titled Go Away to Murder. Inspector West Cries Wolf was re-published as The Creepers. A Case for Inspector West was also published as The Figure in the Dusk. Puzzle for Inspector West is also known as The Dissemblers. Inspector West at Bay was later re-titled The Blind Spot and also as The Case of the Acid Throwers. A Gun for Inspector West was also published under the title Give a Man a Gun. Send Inspector West was also published as Send Superintendent West. A Beauty for Inspector West was also released as The Beauty Queen Killer, and as So Young, So Cold, So Fair. Inspector West Makes Haste was also titled The Gelignite Gang, as Murder Makes Haste, and as Night of the Watchman. Two for Inspector West was re-published as Murder: One, Two, Three, and as Murder Tips the Scales. Parcels for Inspector West was also published as Death of a Postman. A Prince for Inspector West is also known as Death of a Assassin. Accident for Inspector West was later re-titled Hit and Run. Find Inspector West was also published as The Trouble at Saxby’s, and also as Doorway to Death. Strike for Death is also known as The Killing Strike. Triumph for Inspector West was later re-titled The Case Against Paul Raeburn. Inspector West Kicks Off was alternately titled Sport for Inspector West.

If You Like Inspector West Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector West Synopsis: Inspector Takes Charge by John Creasey is book 1 in the series. Extortion is the name of the game and the method is to murder anyone who might get in the way. “The Dreem” factory and much else is at stake. Inspector West has to unravel it all at gun point, but not without difficulty and surprise…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector West Books

Leave a Reply