Irene Adler Mysteries by Carole Nelson Douglas
Irene Adler is the protagonist in a series of historical suspense novels by American novelist Carole Nelson Douglas. Irene Adler is the only woman to ever outwit Sherlock Holmes. Aside from her sleuthing, she is an opera singer. Although Adler is American, the series is set in 19th century France. The character is portrayed by Rachel McAdams in the Sherlock Holmes film series (alongside Robert Downey, Jr.).

Carole Nelson Douglas began her Irene Adler series in 1990 with the novel Good Night, Mr. Holmes. The series lasted eight novels, with the last full novel being 2004’s Spider Dance. Douglas also published a novella in the series in 2012 with The Private Wife of Sherlock Holmes. Below is a list of Carole Nelson Douglas’ Irene Adler books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Irene Adler Books

Good Night, Mr. Holmes(1990)Description / Buy at
Good Morning, Irene(1991)Description / Buy at
Irene At Large(1992)Description / Buy at
Irene's Last Waltz(1994)Description / Buy at
Chapel Noir(2001)Description / Buy at
Castle Rouge(2002)Description / Buy at
Femme Fatale(2003)Description / Buy at
Spider Dance(2004)Description / Buy at
The Private Wife of Sherlock Holmes(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Irene Adler Books, You’ll Love…

Irene Adler Synopsis: Good Night, Mr. Holmes is the first Irene Adler novel by Carole Nelson Douglas. Irene Adler is not only an opera singer, but the woman who once outwitted Sherlock Holmes himself is herself an excellent detective. However, matters of the heart don’t come as easily to her. Is the tall, blonde and handsome Crown Prince of Bohemia the same as all of the other men like him she’s met, or is he different?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Irene Adler Books

Leave a Reply