Joanne Kilbourn by Gail Bowen
Joanne Kilbourn is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by Canadian novelist Gail Bowen. Joanne Kilbourn is a widow, a mother, a political analyst and a university professor. But most important to the series, she is an amateur sleuth. She is based in Saskatchewan, Canada. Several of the books in the series have been adapted to TV movies by Shaftesbury Films, with the title character portrayed by Wendy Crewson.

Gail Bowen debuted her Joanne Kilbourn character in the novel Deadly Appearances, which was published in 1990. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Gail Bowen’s Joanne Kilbourn books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Gail Bowen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joanne Kilbourn Mystery Books

Deadly Appearances(1990)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Mendel / Love and Murder(1991)Description / Buy at
The Wandering Soul Murders(1992)Description / Buy at
A Colder Kind of Death(1994)Description / Buy at
A Killing Spring(1996)Description / Buy at
Verdict in Blood(1998)Description / Buy at
Burying Ariel(2000)Description / Buy at
The Glass Coffin(2002)Description / Buy at
The Last Good Day(2004)Description / Buy at
The Endless Knot(2006)Description / Buy at
The Brutal Heart(2008)Description / Buy at
The Nesting Dolls(2010)Description / Buy at
Kaleidoscope(2012)Description / Buy at
The Gifted(2013)Description / Buy at
12 Rose Street(2015)Description / Buy at
What's Left Behind(2016)Description / Buy at
The Winners' Circle(2017)Description / Buy at
A Darkness of the Heart(2018)Description / Buy at
The Unlocking Season(2020)Description / Buy at
An Image in the Lake(2021)Description / Buy at
What’s Past Is Prologue(2022)Description / Buy at
The Legacy(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: Murder at the Mendel is also known as Love and Murder.

If You Like Joanne Kilbourn Books, You’ll Love…

Joanne Kilbourn Synopsis: Deadly Appearances by Gail Bowen is the first book in the Joanne Kilbourn mystery series. Andy Boychuk is a successful Saskatchewan politician – until one sweltering August afternoon when the party faithful gather at a picnic. All of the key people in Boychuk’s life, including family, friends, enemies, are present. Boychuk steps up to the podium to make a speech, takes a sip of water, and drops dead. Joanne Kilbourn, in her first job as Canada’s leading amateur sleuth, is soon on the case, looking into Boychuk’s past. What she finds are a Bible college that’s too good to be true, a woman with a horrifying and secret past, and a murderer who isn’t done yet.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Joanne Kilbourn Books

Leave a Reply