John Francis Cuddy by Jeremiah Healy
John Francis Cuddy is the protagonist in a series of detective/crime fiction novels by American novelist Jeremiah Healy. When a case falls through the cracks of a judicial system, John Cuddy is the man for the job. He is a Boston-based private investigator and considered to be moral, honest and violent when necessary. Prior to becoming a detective, Cuddy served in Vietnam.

Jeremiah Healy began his John Francis Cuddy series in 1984 with his own debut novel, Blunt Darts. The series consists of 13 novels and 2 short story collections, all of which were at least nominated for a Shamus Award. Below is a list of Jeremiah Healy’s John Francis Cuddy books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of John Francis Cuddy Books

Publication Order of John Francis Cuddy Collections

The Concise Cuddy(1998)Description / Buy at
Cuddy -- Plus One(2003)Description / Buy at

Note: The Staked Goat was also titled The Tethered Goat.

If You Like John Francis Cuddy Books, You’ll Love…

John Francis Cuddy Synopses: Blunt Darts is the first novel featuring Detective John Francis Cuddy by Jeremiah Healy. In his debut novel, John Francis Cuddy must find a Massachusetts judge’s missing son.

In the second John Cuddy novel by Jeremiah Healy, The Staked Goat, Cuddy bonded with Al Sachs back while patrolling the streets of Saigon. Cuddy is awoken by a phone call from Sachs, looking to meet up for a drink. He is reminded by his voice that Sachs told him that if he was ever captured, he would break his pinky finger in order to signal that his death was no accident. The meeting never occurs. Sachs is found the next morning in the park. Dead. Mangled. And his finger is broken.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Francis Cuddy Books

Leave a Reply