Neal Carey by Don Winslow
Neal Carey is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Don Winslow. Neal Carey grew up on the streets of New York and was headed down the wrong path until he meant a one-armed private investigator named Joe Graham. Graham raised Neal and allowed him to get an education at Columbia University. Now, in the ’70s, Neal Carey is a reluctant P.I. who travels across the world, but is living in a village in Yorkshire, England.

Don Winslow began his Neal Carey Mysteries series in 1991 with A Cool Breeze on the Underground. The series lasted five novels, concluding in 1996 with the novel While Drowning in the Desert. Below is a list of Don Winslow’s Neal Carey books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Don Winslow releases a new book at

Publication Order of Neal Carey Books

A Cool Breeze on the Underground(1991)Description / Buy at
The Trail to Buddha's Mirror(1992)Description / Buy at
Way Down on the High Lonely(1993)Description / Buy at
A Long Walk Up the Water Slide(1994)Description / Buy at
While Drowning in the Desert(1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Neal Carey Books, You’ll Love…

Neal Carey Mysteries Synopses: In The Trail to Buddha’s Mirror by Don Winslow (book 2 of the Neal Carey series), a chemical genius named Robert Pendleton disappears in the middle of a conference along with his research on a new fertilizer, so former grad student now private investigator Neal Carey looks into a trail that goes all of the way to China.

In Way Down On the High Lonely by Don Winslow, Neal Carey has the chance to get out of his internment in a Chinese monastery on the condition that he can find Cody McCall, who has been abducted by his own father. The search takes Carey from Hollywood to a meeting with a group of white supremacists from Nevada.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Neal Carey Books

Leave a Reply