The Prey series (also known as the Lucas Davenport series) is a series of novels written by American author John Sandford. The series started with Rules of Prey in 1989 and continues to this day with approximately one book published per year.

Prey is a haunting thriller series that is so chilling that you will almost be too afraid to turn the page, but you won’t be able to stop yourself from doing so. We have listed the order in which the Prey series has been published below:

Get notified when John Sandford releases a new book at

Publication Order of Prey/Lucas Davenport Books

Rules of Prey(1989)Description / Buy at
Shadow Prey(1990)Description / Buy at
Eyes of Prey(1991)Description / Buy at
Silent Prey(1992)Description / Buy at
Winter Prey(1993)Description / Buy at
Night Prey(1994)Description / Buy at
Mind Prey(1995)Description / Buy at
Sudden Prey(1996)Description / Buy at
Secret Prey(1998)Description / Buy at
Certain Prey(1999)Description / Buy at
Easy Prey(2000)Description / Buy at
Chosen Prey(2001)Description / Buy at
Mortal Prey(2002)Description / Buy at
Naked Prey(2003)Description / Buy at
Hidden Prey(2004)Description / Buy at
Broken Prey(2005)Description / Buy at
Invisible Prey(2007)Description / Buy at
Phantom Prey(2008)Description / Buy at
Wicked Prey(2009)Description / Buy at
Storm Prey(2010)Description / Buy at
Buried Prey(2011)Description / Buy at
Stolen Prey(2012)Description / Buy at
Silken Prey(2013)Description / Buy at
Field of Prey(2014)Description / Buy at
Gathering Prey(2015)Description / Buy at
Extreme Prey(2016)Description / Buy at
Golden Prey(2017)Description / Buy at
Twisted Prey(2018)Description / Buy at
Neon Prey(2019)Description / Buy at
Masked Prey(2020)Description / Buy at
Ocean Prey(2021)Description / Buy at
Righteous Prey(2022)Description / Buy at
Judgment Prey(2023)Description / Buy at
Toxic Prey(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lucas Davenport vs. Lincoln Rhyme Short Stories/Novellas

Rhymes With Prey: Lincoln Rhyme vs. Lucas Davenport(2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Letty Davenport Books

Note: Rhymes with Prey is co-authored with Jeffery Deaver and features Lincoln Rhyme.

If You Like Lucas Davenport Books, You’ll Love…

Lucas Davenport / Prey Synopses: In Rules of Prey (the first of the Prey series featuring Lucas Davenport), Lt. Lucas Davenport is on the hunt for a serial killer who preys on women. To the killer, these rapes and murders are all a game, complete with obstacles, hand-picked victims and the moves of an experienced Chess player.

In the third book of the Lucas Davenport series by author John Camp, Eyes of Prey, the lieutenant must battle personal demons from a past investigation while at the same time try to catch a gruesome killer.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Prey/Lucas Davenport Books

4 Responses to “Order of Prey/Lucas Davenport Books”

  1. Mary Shire: 2 years ago

    Trying to find which Preybook where Lucas is in dc and weather is in a serious auto accident hit and run please help I want to buy book thanks


  2. Mark: 3 years ago

    Perhaps it is time for Lucas to lead an agency?


    • John: 1 year ago

      He usually runs the investigations but doesn’t want to lead an agency . This would take him out of the chase and put him in an office shuffling papers .


  3. earlinebravet: 9 years ago



Leave a Reply