The Liebermann Papers series is a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Frank Tallis. Set in Vienna, Austria at the turn of the century. Max Liebermann is a different type of detective for a historical mystery – in that he is a psychoanalyst. He teams with Oskar Rheinhardt, who is a detective who utilizes cutting edge methods.

Frank Tallis began his Liebermann Papers series in 2005 with the novel Mortal Mischief (aka A Death in Vienna). The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Frank Tallis’ Liebermann Papers books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Frank Tallis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liebermann Papers Books

A Death in Vienna / Mortal Mischief(2005)Description / Buy at
Vienna Blood(2006)Description / Buy at
Fatal Lies(2008)Description / Buy at
Darkness Rising / Vienna Secrets(2009)Description / Buy at
Vienna Twilight / Deadly Communion(2010)Description / Buy at
Death and the Maiden(2011)Description / Buy at
Mephisto Waltz(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: Mortal Mischief is also known as A Death in Vienna. Darkness Rising was re-published as Vienna Secrets. Deadly Communion was later re-titled Vienna Twilight.

If You Like Liebermann Papers Books, You’ll Love…

Liebermann Papers Synopsis: A Death in Vienna is the first book in the Max Liebermann series, also known as Mortal Mischief. In 1902, elegant Vienna is the city of the new century, the center of discoveries in everything from the writing of music to the workings of the human mind. But now a brutal homicide has stunned its citizens and appears to have bridged the gap between science and the supernatural. Two very different sleuths from opposite ends of the spectrum will need to combine their talents to solve the boggling crime: Detective Oskar Rheinhardt, who is on the cutting edge of modern police work, and his friend Dr. Max Liebermann, a follower of Sigmund Freud and a pioneer on new frontiers of psychology. As a team they must use both hard evidence and intuitive analysis to solve a medium’s mysterious murder – one that couldn’t have been committed by anyone alive.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Liebermann Papers Books

Leave a Reply