Liss MacCrimmon Scottish Mysteries by Kaitlyn Dunnett
Liss MacCrimmon is the protagonist in a series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Kaitlyn Dunnett (Kathy Lynn Emerson). Originally from Moosetookalook, Maine, Liss MacCrimmon left for Scotland to become a professional Scottish dancer. Ten years later, she has returned back home to Maine in order to help her aunt run a Scottish shop.

Kaitlyn Dunnett began her Liss MacCrimmon Scottish Mysteries series in 2007 with the novel Kilt Dead. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Kaitlyn Dunnett’s Liss MacCrimmon books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Kaitlyn Dunnett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liss MacCrimmon Mysteries Books

Kilt Dead(2007)Description / Buy at
Scone Cold Dead(2008)Description / Buy at
A Wee Christmas Homicide(2009)Description / Buy at
The Corpse Wore Tartan(2010)Description / Buy at
Scotched(2011)Description / Buy at
Bagpipes, Brides and Homicides(2012)Description / Buy at
Vampires, Bones and Treacle Scones(2013)Description / Buy at
Ho-Ho-Homicide(2014)Description / Buy at
The Scottie Barked At Midnight(2015)Description / Buy at
Kilt at the Highland Games(2017)Description / Buy at
X Marks the Scot(2017)Description / Buy at
Overkilt(2018)Description / Buy at
A View to a Kilt(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Liss MacCrimmon Books, You’ll Love…

Liss MacCrimmon Synopsis: In Kilt Dead by Kaitlyn Dunnett (book 1 of the series), Liss MacCrimmon has been doing all sorts of strathsprays and reels, jigs and Highland flings until a knee injury puts an end to her dancing career in Scotland. She decides to return back home to Maine to help her aunt run a Scottish import store. But when the small western Maine village gets a taste of murder, Liss may have to become a sleuth as well. With her aunt gone to Scotland, Liss takes care of the booth at the Highland Games. She gets to see some old friends and some new eccentrics in town, including one that wants a kilt made out of a plaid she has to get from the stock room. When she goes to get it, she finds her aunt’s neighbour, Amanda Norris, dead in the room. This makes Liss the number one suspect.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Liss MacCrimmon Books

Leave a Reply