Susanna Lady Appleton by Kathy Lee Emerson
Susanna, Lady Appleton is the protagonist in a series of historical cozy mystery novels by American novelist Kathy Lynn Emerson. Susanna, Lady Appleton is a 16th century gentlewoman, a herbalist and an expert detective. She is a no-nonsense woman who is surely any husband’s nightmare. The series is also known as the “Face Down” series.

Kathy Lynn Emerson began her Susanna, Lady Appleton series in 1997 with the novel Face Down in the Marrow-Bone Pie. The series lasted for ten novels and one short story collection. Below is a list of Kathy Lynn Emerson’s Susanna, Lady Appleton books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Kathy Lynn Emerson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Susanna, Lady Appleton Books

Face Down in the Marrow-Bone Pie(1997)Description / Buy at
Face Down Upon an Herbal(1998)Description / Buy at
Face Down Among the Winchester Geese(1999)Description / Buy at
Face Down Beneath the Eleanor Cross(2000)Description / Buy at
Face Down Under the Wych Elm(2000)Description / Buy at
Face Down Before Rebel Hooves(2001)Description / Buy at
Face Down Across the Western Sea(2002)Description / Buy at
Murders and Other Confusions(2004)Description / Buy at
Face Down Below the Banqueting House(2005)Description / Buy at
Face Down Beside St. Anne's Well(2006)Description / Buy at
Face Down O'er the Border(2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susanna, Lady Appleton Books, You’ll Love…

Susanna, Lady Appleton Synopsis: Face Down in the Marrow-Bone Pie is the first novel in Kathy Lynn Emerson’s Susanna, Lady Appleton series. After her (absent) husband’s steward dies a suspicious death, Susanna decides to look into what happened to poor Bexwith. The wench who found Bexwith says a ghost caused him to be frightened to death, but Susanna thinks his marrow-bone pie was poisoned. Was he poisoned on purpose or by accident? Who or what is the ghost that supposedly scared Bexwith to death?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Susanna, Lady Appleton Books

Leave a Reply