The Lydia Chin/Bill Smith series is a series of mystery novels by American novelist S.J. Rozan. The series is set in New York City and follows Chinese-American private investigator Lydia Chin and her partner Bill Smith.

The Lydia Chin/Bill Smith series began in 1994 with China Trade. The books have won several awards over the years for Best P.I. Novel and other mystery-genre awards. Below is a list of S.J. Rozan’s Lydia Chin/Bill Smith novels in publication and chronological order:

Get notified when S.J. Rozan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lydia Chin & Bill Smith Books

China Trade(1994)Description / Buy at
Concourse(1995)Description / Buy at
Mandarin Plaid(1996)Description / Buy at
No Colder Place(1997)Description / Buy at
A Bitter Feast(1998)Description / Buy at
Stone Quarry / Bad Blood(1999)Description / Buy at
Reflecting the Sky / Blood Rites(2001)Description / Buy at
Winter and Night / Blood Ties(2002)Description / Buy at
The Shanghai Moon / Trail of Blood(2009)Description / Buy at
On the Line / Out for Blood(2010)Description / Buy at
Ghost Hero(2011)Description / Buy at
Paper Son(2019)Description / Buy at
The Art of Violence(2020)Description / Buy at
Family Business(2021)Description / Buy at
The Mayors of New York(2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lydia Chin & Bill Smith Short Stories/Novellas

Body English(1992)Description / Buy at
A Tale About a Tiger(1998)Description / Buy at
Birds of Paradise(2004)Description / Buy at
Chin Yong-Yun Takes a Case(2011)Description / Buy at
Heartbreak(2012)Description / Buy at
Prosperity Restaurant(2012)Description / Buy at
Double-Crossing Delancey(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lydia Chin/Bill Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lydia Chin/Bill Smith Books

Leave a Reply