Mac Fontana by Earl W Emerson
Mac Fontana is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Earl Emerson. Mac Fontana is the fire chief and part-time deputy sheriff in the fictional town of Staircase, Washington.

Earl Emerson began his Mac Fontana series in 1988 with the novel Black Hearts and Slow Dancing. Following The Dead Horse Paint Company, the series has taken a hiatus, but there is a new upcoming book in the series. Below is a list of Earl W. Emerson’s Mac Fontana books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Earl Emerson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mac Fontana Books

Black Hearts And Slow Dancing(1988)Description / Buy at
Help Wanted: Orphans Preferred(1990)Description / Buy at
Morons and Madmen(1993)Description / Buy at
Going Crazy In Public(1996)Description / Buy at
The Dead Horse Paint Company(1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mac Fontana Books, You’ll Love…

Mac Fontana Synopses: In Black Hearts and Slow Dancing by Earl W. Emerson (book 1 of the series), Fire Chief Mac Fontana is temporarily taking the position of Deputy Sheriff of Staircase, Washington. But with his new position, he has to look into the brutal killing of a Seattle firefighter, taking him into a web of lies, corruption and even murder.

In Help Wanted: Orphans Preferred by Earl Emerson (book 2 of the series), one of Mac’s men is poisoned, while another’s window are shot through, and a third is almost kidnapped. Mac must try and look into all of these crimes, while at the same time dealing with his strong attraction to another man’s wife.

In Morons & Madmen (book 3 of the series), a female firefighter survives a fire in Seattle, while three male firefighters perish. For this, she gets harassed. Mac Fontana must get to the bottom of the blaze and at the same time, clear her name.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mac Fontana Books

Leave a Reply