Marcus Corvinus is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by Scottish novelist David Wishart. Marcus Corvinus is a member of the Senatorial class in 1st Century Rome. For his criminal investigations, he teams up with his wife, Perilla.

David Wishart began his Marcus Corvinus series in 1995 with the novel Ovid. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of David Wishart’s Marcus Corvinus books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when David Wishart releases a new book at

Publication Order of Marcus Corvinus Books

If You Like Marcus Corvinus Books, You’ll Love…

Marcus Corvinus Synopsis: Ovid is the first book in the Marcus Corvinus series by David Wishart. When young aristocratic layabout Marcus Corvinus is approached by the stepdaughter of the exiled and now dead Roman poet Ovid and asked to clear the return of the ashes for burial, he cheerfully agrees; he doesn’t expect any problems. Only when he makes the application to the imperial authorities it’s turned down flat. So what, Corvinus asks himself, did Ovid do that was so bad that they won’t even allow his bones back into Italy?

Germanicus by David Wishart is the second book in the Marcus Corvinus series. Marcus Corvinus knows nothing good is coming when he is summoned by Empress Livia. Age has not sweetened her and she’s about as trustworthy as a snake with a migraine. But Livia has a way of asking a favour that is impossible to refuse – which is how Marcus finds himself investigating the death of her grandson, Germanicus. And uncovering a multi-stranded web of betrayal and deceit that threatens the imperial succession and even Emperor Tiberius himself.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Marcus Corvinus Books

Leave a Reply