The Markhat Files is a series of fantasy novels by American author Frank Tuttle. The title character, Markhat, works as a finder.

Frank Tuttle began his Markhat Files series in 2008 with The Mister Trophy. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Frank Tuttle’s Markhat Files books in order of when they were originally published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Frank Tuttle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Markhat Files Books

The Mister Trophy(2008)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Rain(2008)Description / Buy at
Hold the Dark(2009)Description / Buy at
The Cadaver Client(2009)Description / Buy at
The Banshee's Walk(2010)Description / Buy at
The Broken Bell(2011)Description / Buy at
Brown River Queen(2013)Description / Buy at
The Five Faces(2014)Description / Buy at
The Darker Carnival(2015)Description / Buy at
Way Out West(2016)Description / Buy at
Three Mean Streets(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Markhat Files Books, You’ll Love…

Markhat Files Synopses: The Mister Trophy is book 1 in the Markhat Files by Frank Tuttle. A troll’s missing head could cause Markhat to lose his own. All the finder Markhat wanted was a beer at Eddie’s. Instead he gets a case that will bring him face to fang with crazed, blood-craving halfdead, a trio of vengeful Troll warriors, and Mama Hog’s backstreet magic. Plus, the possible resurgence of the Troll War. All right in his own none-too-quiet neighborhood. Through the town of Rannit’s narrow alleys and mean streets, Markhat tries to stay one step ahead of disaster. And ignore Mama Hog’s dire warnings that this time, the head that rolls could be his own.

Dead Man’s Rain by Frank Tuttle is book 2 in the Markhat Files. Can a haunted man help the dead find peace? Markhat is a Finder, charged with the post-war task of tracking down sons and fathers gone suddenly missing when an outbreak of peace left the army abandoned where they stood. But now it’s ten years on after the war, and about all he’s finding is trouble. This time, trouble comes in the form of a rich widow with a problem. Her dearly departed husband, Ebed Merlat, keeps ambling back from the grave for nocturnal visits. Markhat saw a lot during the war, but he’s never seen anyone, rich or poor, rise from the grave and go tromping around the landscape. But for the right price, he’s willing to look into it. As a storm gathers and night falls, Markhat finds darker things than even murder lurk amid the shadows of House Merlat.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Markhat Files Books

Leave a Reply