Mary Poppins by PL Travers
Mary Poppins is the main character in a series of children’s books by Australian author P.L. Travers. Mary Poppins is considered to be the quintessential English nanny by many, but she is capable of many feats of magic, including flying in on an umbrella. In the series, she works as a nanny to the Banks children, who live on Cherry Tree Lane. And then, as soon as she appears, she “pops out.” The books were adapted into the 1964 film Mary Poppins, staring Julie Andrews.

P.L. Travers introduced readers to her Mary Poppins character in 1934 with the title novel of the series. The series includes 10 books, with the final entry into the series being the 1988 novel Mary Poppins and the House Next Door. Below is a list of P.L. Travers’ Mary Poppins books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Mary Poppins Books

Mary Poppins(1934)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins Comes Back(1935)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins Opens the Door(1943)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in the Park(1952)Description / Buy at
The Gingerbread Shop(1952)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins from A to Z(1962)Description / Buy at
Mr. Wigg's Birthday Party(1962)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in the Kitchen(1975)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in Cherry Tree Lane(1982)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins and the House Next Door(1988)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Poppins Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Poppins Synopsis: In Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers, the Banks family’s lives are immediately changed as soon as Mary Poppins shows up at 17 Cherry Tree Lane. As the east wind blows her onto the doorstep, she immediately becomes a most unusual nanny to Jane, Michael and the twins, as she slides up bannisters, pulls an armchair out of an empty carpetbag and makes medicine taste good! Mary Poppins can turn a normal day into a magical one!

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mary Poppins Books

Leave a Reply