Matthew Bartholomew by Susanna Gregory
Matthew Bartholomew is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by English novelist Susanna Gregory. Matthew Bartholomew teaches medicine and also investigates murders in Cambridge, England during the 14th century. Due to his abilities as a healer, he ends up in the middle of various mysteries and reluctantly becomes an amateur sleuth.

Susanna Gregory began her Matthew Bartholomew series in 1996 with the novel A Plague on Both Your Houses. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Susanna Gregory’s Matthew Bartholomew books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Susanna Gregory releases a new book at

Publication Order of Matthew Bartholomew Books

A Plague on Both Your Houses(1996)Description / Buy at
An Unholy Alliance(1996)Description / Buy at
A Bone of Contention(1997)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Brew(1998)Description / Buy at
A Wicked Deed(1999)Description / Buy at
A Masterly Murder(2000)Description / Buy at
An Order for Death(2001)Description / Buy at
A Summer of Discontent(2002)Description / Buy at
A Killer in Winter(2003)Description / Buy at
The Hand of Justice(2004)Description / Buy at
The Mark of a Murderer(2005)Description / Buy at
The Tarnished Chalice(2006)Description / Buy at
To Kill or Cure(2008)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Disciples(2008)Description / Buy at
A Vein of Deceit(2009)Description / Buy at
A Killer of Pilgrims(2010)Description / Buy at
Mystery in the Minster(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder by the Book(2012)Description / Buy at
The Lost Abbot(2013)Description / Buy at
Death of a Scholar(2014)Description / Buy at
A Poisonous Plot(2015)Description / Buy at
A Grave Concern(2016)Description / Buy at
The Habit of Murder(2017)Description / Buy at
The Sanctuary Murders(2019)Description / Buy at
The Chancellor's Secret(2021)Description / Buy at

Note: Murder in the Minster was re-published as Mystery in the Minster.

If You Like Matthew Bartholomew Books, You’ll Love…

Matthew Bartholomew Synopsis: An Unholy Alliance is the second book in Susanna Gregory’s Matthew Bartholomew series. In 1350, the people of Cambridge are trying to overcome the effects of the Black Death. Bands of outlaws roam the land and the high death rate among priests and monks has left the people vulnerable to sinister cults that have grown up in the wake of the plague. At Michaelhouse, Matthew Bartholomew is training new physicians to replace those who died of the pestilence. When the body of a friar is found in the large chest where the University stores its most precious documents, Bartholomew is dragged away from his teaching to investigate. But the friar’s is not the only unexplained death in town. Almost by chance Bartholomew stumbles across a derelict church, abandoned since its congregation were decimated by the plague. It is now the meeting place for a mysterious sect which holds its followers in terror, and which Bartholomew believes to be at the very heart of an astonishing web of blackmail and deceit aimed to overthrow the established religion.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Matthew Bartholomew Books

One Response to “Order of Matthew Bartholomew Books”

  1. Barbara Chapman: 5 years ago

    I love these books by Susanna Gregory, whether I am reading them to myself, or listening to the wonderful tones of David Thorpe as he reads them on Audible. I am a historian and find the historical setting very accurate. The additional historical “Notes” given at the end of each book also add to my enjoyment, and if I had the time could lead me to further research.

    I love well written historical crime fiction and these certainly are, and Matthew ( the physician, and Fellow of Michael House College ) and Brother Michael, the Proctor at Cambridge University also based at Michael House, together with all the other regular characters are brought to life, not just with Ms Gregory’s prose, but with the many “voices” of David Thorpe. Once started on a book I find it hard to put down or to switch off.

    PS I can also recommend Ms Gregory’s Restoration Series featuring Thomas Challoner, a spy for the king’s intelligence service.


Leave a Reply