Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan by Paul Doherty
The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan is a series of historical mystery novels by English author Paul Doherty. The title character is a Dominican friar and priest to St. Erconwald’s and secretarius to Coroner Sir John Cranston. The novels are set in London during the late 14th century during the reign of Richard II.

Paul Doherty began his Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan series in 1991 with the novel The Nightingale Gallery. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Paul Doherty’s Brother Athelstan books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Paul Doherty releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan Books

The Nightingale Gallery(1991)Description / Buy at
The House of the Red Slayer(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Holy(1992)Description / Buy at
The Anger of God(1993)Description / Buy at
By Murder's Bright Light(1994)Description / Buy at
The House of Crows(1995)Description / Buy at
The Assassin's Riddle(1996)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Domain(1998)Description / Buy at
The Field of Blood(1999)Description / Buy at
The House of Shadows(2003)Description / Buy at
Bloodstone(2012)Description / Buy at
The Straw Men(2013)Description / Buy at
Candle Flame(2014)Description / Buy at
The Book of Fires(2014)Description / Buy at
The Herald of Hell(2015)Description / Buy at
The Great Revolt(2016)Description / Buy at
A Pilgrimage to Murder(2017)Description / Buy at
The Mansions of Murder(2017)Description / Buy at
The Godless(2019)Description / Buy at
The Stone of Destiny(2021)Description / Buy at
The Hanging Tree(2022)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Treasonable(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: Up to the novel The Assassin’s Riddle, Paul Doherty wrote the series using the pen name Paul Harding. All novels have since been reissued under Doherty’s name. The House Of The Red Slayer is alternatively titled The Red Slayer.

If You Like Brother Athelstan Books, You’ll Love…

Brother Athelstan Synopsis: In The Nightgale Gallery by Paul Harding (Paul Doherty) – the first book in the Brother Athelstan series – it is 1376 and the Black Prince has died on a horrible illness, followed by his father, King Edward III. This leaves the crown to Richard II, while nobles gather around waiting to grab the throne for themselves. During this time of turmoil, a merchant prince is found murdered and Coroner Sir John Cranston and Dominican monk Brother Athelstan must investigate the murder. If that wasn’t enough, the murderers aren’t finished yet and the intrigue increases quickly.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Brother Athelstan Books

Leave a Reply