Matthew Corbett is the protagonist of a series of historical fiction/horror novels by American author Robert McCammon. The series is set in the late 17th century and into the early 18th century. Matthew Corbett is the assistant of magistrate Isaac Woodward.

Although the first novel in the Matthew Corbett series was written in the ’90s, Speaks the Nightbird was not published until 2002. Below is a list of Robert R. McCammon’s Matthew Corbett books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Robert R. McCammon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Matthew Corbett Books

Speaks the Nightbird(2002)Description / Buy at
The Queen of Bedlam(2007)Description / Buy at
Night Ride(2009)Description / Buy at
Mister Slaughter(2010)Description / Buy at
The Providence Rider(2012)Description / Buy at
The River of Souls(2014)Description / Buy at
Freedom of the Mask(2016)Description / Buy at
Cardinal Black(2019)Description / Buy at
The King of Shadows(2022)Description / Buy at
Seven Shades of Evil(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Matthew Corbett Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Matthew Corbett Books

One Response to “Order of Matthew Corbett Books”

  1. Joe Cox: 7 years ago

    Just finished the Matthew Corbett book, “Freedom of the mask by Robert McCammon. Is there a continuation? My e-mail is: Please let me know as I can’t find it on line.


Leave a Reply