The Medicus Investigation series is a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Ruth Downie. Gaius Petreius Ruso is a military doctor, who transfers to the 20th Legion in the remote Britannia port of Deva (now Chester, England) to start over after a bad divorce and his father’s death. Soon, he will events will transpire that will lead him to becoming a reluctant sleuth in the midst of the Roman Empire.

Ruth Downie began her Medicus Investigation series in 2006 with the novel Medicus (aka Ruso and the Disappearing Dancing Girls). The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ruth Downie’s Medicus Investigation books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Ruth Downie releases a new book at

Publication Order of Medicus Investigation Books

Medicus / Ruso and the Disappearing Dancing Girls(2006)Description / Buy at
Terra Incognita / Ruso and the Demented Doctor(2008)Description / Buy at
Persona Non Grata / Ruso and the Root of All Evils(2009)Description / Buy at
Caveat Emptor / Ruso and the River of Darkness(2010)Description / Buy at
Semper Fidelis(2013)Description / Buy at
Tabula Rasa(2014)Description / Buy at
Vita Brevis(2016)Description / Buy at
Memento Mori(2018)Description / Buy at
Prima Facie(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Medicus was also published as Ruso and the Disappearing Dancing Girls. Terra Incognita is also titled Ruso and the Demented Doctor. Persona Non Grata is also known as Ruso and the Root of All Evils. Caveat Emptor is alternately titled Ruso and the River of Darkness.

If You Like Medicus Investigation Books, You’ll Love…

Medicus Investigation Synopsis: Persona Non Grata by Ruth Downie is the third book of the series. Finally, Gaius Petreius Ruso and his companion, Tilla, are headed back home to Gaul. But with Tilla getting cold greetings from Ruso’s relatives, a family member having mysteriously drowned at sea, and the whole Ruso household on the brink of bankruptcy, it’s hard to imagine an unhappier reunion. That is, until Severus, the family’s chief creditor, turns up dead, and the real trouble begins…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Medicus Investigation Books

Leave a Reply