Merrily Watkins by Phil Rickman
Merrily Watkins is the protagonist in a series of supernatural crime fiction novels by British author Phil Rickman. Merrily works as Deliverance Consultant/Advisor on the Paranormal for the Diocese of Hereford (England). She is also a single mother to a pagan teenage daughter, Jane.

Phil Rickman debuted his Merrily Watkins character in the novel The Wine of Angels, published in 1998, although he considers the second novel, 1999’s Midwinter of the Spirit to be the true beginning of the series. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Phil Rickman’s Merrily Watkins books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Phil Rickman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Books

The Wine of Angels(1998)Description / Buy at
Midwinter of the Spirit(1999)Description / Buy at
A Crown of Lights(2001)Description / Buy at
The Cure of Souls(2001)Description / Buy at
The Lamp of the Wicked(2003)Description / Buy at
The Prayer of the Night Shepherd(2004)Description / Buy at
The Smile of a Ghost(2005)Description / Buy at
The Remains of an Altar(2006)Description / Buy at
The Fabric of Sin(2007)Description / Buy at
To Dream of the Dead(2008)Description / Buy at
The Secrets of Pain(2011)Description / Buy at
The Magus of Hay(2013)Description / Buy at
The House of Susan Lulham(2014)Description / Buy at
Friends of the Dusk(2015)Description / Buy at
All of a Winter's Night(2017)Description / Buy at
The Fever of the World(2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Companion Books

Merrily's Border(2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Merrily Watkins Books, You’ll Love…

Merrily Watkins Synopsis: The Wine of Angels by Phil Rickman is the first Merily Watkins novel. The new vicar didn’t wish for a picture-perfect parish, nor a large, haunted vicarage and certainly not wanting to deal with a disagreement over a play about a 17th century clergyman who has been accused of witchcraft, a story which most in the area would rather not have to think about. Ledwardine is full of secrets, cobblestone streets and timber-framed houses. It is here where Merrily Watkins and daughter Jane find that this village considers murder to be a centuries-old tradition.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Merrily Watkins Books

Leave a Reply