Milt Kovak is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Susan Rogers Cooper. Milt Kovak works as a sheriff based in rural Oklahoma.

Susan Rogers Cooper began her Milt Kovak series in 1989 with the novel The Man in the Green Chevy. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Susan Rogers Cooper’s Milt Kovak books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Susan Cooper releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sheriff Milt Kovak Books

The Man In the Green Chevy(1988)Description / Buy at
Houston In The Rearview Mirror(1990)Description / Buy at
Other People's Houses(1990)Description / Buy at
Chasing Away the Devil(1991)Description / Buy at
Dead Moon on the Rise(1994)Description / Buy at
Doctors and Lawyers and Such(1995)Description / Buy at
Lying Wonders(2003)Description / Buy at
Vegas Nerve(2007)Description / Buy at
Shotgun Wedding(2009)Description / Buy at
Rude Awakening(2009)Description / Buy at
Husband and Wives(2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Waters(2013)Description / Buy at
Countdown(2014)Description / Buy at
Best Served Cold(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Milt Kovak Books, You’ll Love…

Milt Kovak Synopsis: The Man in the Green Chevy is the first Milt Kovak novel by Susan Rogers Cooper. Chief Deputy Milt Kovak of Prophesy County, Oklahoma Sheriff’s Department had a rapist and murderer on his hands. To make the whole thing even worse, the victims were little old ladies, the nice cookie-baking, sweater-knitting kind. His prime witness is Mrs. Laura Johnson – about 35, three kids, and absentee husband – the sexiest woman Milt had ever seen. She’d identified a man in a green Chevy emerging from the murder scene. He figured if he found that man, he’d find the killer. Between digging unsuccessfully for leads and fighting – equally unsuccessfully – his growing attraction for the warm and inviting Laura, Milt figures the only solution is a new line of work. But Milt Kovak’s not the kind of guy to take the easy way out – not when there’s a crazed killer waiting eagerly to help him.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Milt Kovak Books

Leave a Reply