Miss Julia by Ann B Ross
Miss Julia is the protagonist in a series of cozy mystery novels by American author Ann B. Ross. Miss Julia is a wealthy, recently widowed woman who lives in the town of Hendersonville, North Carolina, with plenty of Southern charm.

Ann B. Ross began her Miss Julia series in 1999 with Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ann B. Ross’ Miss Julia books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Ann B. Ross releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Miss Julia Books

Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Takes Over(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Throws a Wedding(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Hits the Road(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Meets Her Match(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia's School of Beauty(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Stands Her Ground(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Strikes Back(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Paints the Town(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Delivers the Goods(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Renews Her Vows(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Rocks the Cradle(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia to the Rescue(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Stirs Up Trouble(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia's Marvelous Makeover(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Lays Down the Law(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Inherits a Mess(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Weathers the Storm(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Raises the Roof(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Takes the Wheel(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Knows a Thing or Two(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Julia Happily Ever After(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Miss Julia Short Stories/Novellas

Miss Julia's Gift(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Miss Julia Books, You’ll Love…

Miss Julia Synopses: Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind by Ann B. Ross is the first book in the Miss Julia series. Miss Julia, a widow who has recently experienced both bereavement and a sudden surge of wealth, encounters an unexpected twist in her life when a woman named Hazel Marie Puckett arrives on her doorstep. To Miss Julia’s mild amusement, Hazel Marie introduces a young child as the illegitimate son of Miss Julia’s late husband. This abrupt revelation thrusts the dignified Miss Julia into the heart of a scandal that ripples through her close-knit Southern community.

As a respected member of her local church and a cornerstone of her community, Miss Julia finds herself at the epicenter of a most unanticipated predicament. Alongside her newfound role as guardian, she is now tasked with caring for a quiet and pale nine-year-old boy, whose mere presence ushers in a whirlwind of disruption and upheaval, upending her previously orderly life.

Miss Julia Takes Over by Ann B. Ross is book 2 in her Miss Julia series. With her sharp wit and unyielding resolve undiminished, Miss Julia finds herself facing yet another disruption in her life. When Hazel Marie fails to return from a dinner date with a fundraiser whom Miss Julia deems to be inappropriately dressed, our indomitable protagonist springs into action. Fearing for Hazel Marie’s safety and growing frustrated by the lack of urgency from the local police, Miss Julia decides to take matters into her own hands.

In a bold move, Miss Julia enlists the services of J. D. Pickens, an investigator, despite her reservations about his penchant for beer and women. As she embarks on this mission, Miss Julia is joined by her trusty companion Little Lloyd, and together they launch a determined search for Hazel Marie. Along the way, they find themselves entangled in a series of unexpected escapades, including a rather raucous brawl and a thrilling high-speed car chase around a NASCAR Speedway.

In Miss Julia Throws a Wedding by Ann B. Ross, we find our beloved protagonist experiencing a touch of nostalgia as she bids farewell to Hazel Marie, who was once her late husband’s paramour and has now become her closest friend. Hazel Marie is preparing to move out and cohabitate with the marriage-resistant Mr. Pickens. Amid this bittersweet moment, an unexpected source of joy emerges: a wedding is on the horizon.

Deputy Coleman Bates, a handsome figure in the community, and attorney Binkie Enloe announce their intention to have a simple courthouse wedding. Miss Julia, however, is determined to turn this occasion into a grand celebration. With her characteristic enthusiasm and determination, she takes it upon herself to ensure that the couple has a proper wedding ceremony.

As the preparations for the wedding unfold, Miss Julia is faced with a series of challenges that threaten to derail the happy event. A missing preacher, an unexpected crowd of uninvited guests, and a bride overcome with nervousness all conspire to complicate the situation. Undeterred, Miss Julia steps up to restore order and ensure that the wedding goes off without a hitch.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Miss Julia Books

4 Responses to “Order of Miss Julia Books”

  1. A.Kathryn Amrhein: 2 years ago

    will there be a new Miss Julia book soon?


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      It is believed that the series is finished with.


  2. Carolyn: 3 years ago

    Do the books in the Miss Julia Series need to be read in order that they were written to understand them better? I have read the first book, “Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind” and LOVED it!


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      The author wrote the books with the intention of them being standalone so readers could jump in anywhere. However she admits that it’s hard to do as she didn’t want to be repeating herself every book about what has previously happened, plus noted there is character/relationship development you can only appreciate if you read them in order. I’d advise reading them in the publication order if possible 🙂


Leave a Reply