The Playful Brides series is a series of historical romance novels by American author Valerie Bowman. Like Bowman’s Secret Brides series, the Playful Brides series is a Regency romance series.

Valerie Bowman started the Playful Brides series in 2014 with the novel The Unexpected Duchess. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Valerie Bowman’s Playful Brides books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Valerie Bowman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Playful Brides Books

The Unexpected Duchess(2014)Description / Buy at
The Accidental Countess(2014)Description / Buy at
The Unlikely Lady(2015)Description / Buy at
The Irresistible Rogue(2015)Description / Buy at
The Unforgettable Hero(2016)Description / Buy at
The Untamed Earl(2016)Description / Buy at
The Legendary Lord(2016)Description / Buy at
Never Trust a Pirate(2017)Description / Buy at
The Right Kind of Rogue(2017)Description / Buy at
A Duke Like No Other(2018)Description / Buy at
Kiss Me at Christmas(2018)Description / Buy at
Mr. Hunt, I Presume(2019)Description / Buy at
No Other Duke But You(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Playful Brides Books, You’ll Love…

Playful Brides Synopsis: The Unexpected Duchess is the first book in the Playful Brides series by Valerie Bowman. Lady Lucy Upton’s tongue may be too sharp to attract suitors but she is well-meaning, and when her painfully shy friend Cassandra needs help she devises a brilliant scheme to help her discourage an unwanted suitor, the Duke of Claringdon. Lucy will hide behind the hedgerow and tell Cass just what to say to discourage the Duke of Claringdon… but it turns out that he’s made of sterner stuff than either of them anticipated. And Lucy is shocked to discover that tangling with the tenacious man is the most fun she’s had in ages. Lord Derek Hunt made a promise to his dying friend to marry the demure Cassandra, and for a man who wants nothing more than peace and quiet after the horrors of war, she’ll make the perfect bride. If only the impudent Miss Upton will let him court the girl! Doing battle is the last thing on his mind, but bantering with Lucy behind the bushes is too tempting to resist. And in The Unexpected Duchess, the spoils of this war just may be true love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Playful Brides Books

Leave a Reply