Reed Ferguson is the protagonist in a series of comic crime fiction novels by American novelist Renee Pawlish. Reed Ferguson is a wannabe private eye who loves film noir and detective fiction, and whose hero is Humphrey Bogart. Alongside him are the his not-too-bright neighbours and his computer geek friend.

Renee Pawlish began her Reed Ferguson series in 2011 with the novel This Doesn’t Happen in the Movies. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Renee Pawlish’s Reed Ferguson books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Renee Pawlish releases a new book at

Publication Order of Reed Ferguson Mystery Books

This Doesn't Happen In The Movies(2011)Description / Buy at
Reel Estate Rip-Off(2011)Description / Buy at
The Maltese Felon(2012)Description / Buy at
Elvis And The Sports Card Cheat(2012)Description / Buy at
Farewell, My Deuce(2013)Description / Buy at
Out of the Past(2014)Description / Buy at
Torch Scene(2014)Description / Buy at
The Lady Who Sang High(2014)Description / Buy at
Sweet Smell of Sucrets(2015)Description / Buy at
The Third Fan(2015)Description / Buy at
Back Story(2015)Description / Buy at
Night of the Hunted(2015)Description / Buy at
The Postman Always Brings Dice(2015)Description / Buy at
Road Blocked(2016)Description / Buy at
A Gun for Hire(2016)Description / Buy at
Small Town Focus(2016)Description / Buy at
Ace in the Hole(2016)Description / Buy at
Nightmare Sally(2017)Description / Buy at
Cool Alibi(2017)Description / Buy at
The Damned Don't Die(2017)Description / Buy at
The Big Steal(2017)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Woman(2017)Description / Buy at
Double Iniquity(2018)Description / Buy at
The Lady Rambles(2019)Description / Buy at
Walk Softly, Danger(2020)Description / Buy at
A Killing(2020)Description / Buy at
Dangers on a Train(2021)Description / Buy at
In a Lowly Place(2022)Description / Buy at
Shadow of a Snout(2023)Description / Buy at
Scene of the Lie(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Reed Ferguson Books, You’ll Love…

Reed Ferguson Synopsis: This Doesn’t Happen in the Movies by Renee Pawlish is the first Reed Ferguson mystery. Reed Ferguson’s debut is a daring adventure, combining film noir with a lot of humour. With a great supporting cast of the Goofball Brothers, Reed’s not too bright neighbours, and Cal, Reed’s computer geek friend, This Doesn’t Happen in the Movies is detective noir at its best. Follow Reed as he solves crime akin to his cinematic hero, Humphrey Bogart.

Reel Estate Rip-Off by Renee Pawlish is book 2 in the series. Reed Ferguson’s second adventure is again filled with film noir and a lot of humour. Along with the Goofball Brothers, Reed’s not too bright neighbours, and Cal, Reed’s computer geek friend, Reed tackles a dangerous case, sharpening his skills as he unearths a string of clues that lead to a killer – but will this case cost Reed his life? With an ode to old Hollywood and movie memorabilia, Reel Estate Rip-Off is humorous detective noir at its best.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Reed Ferguson Books

Leave a Reply