Rowland Sinclair is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by Australian novelist Sulari Gentill. Set in 1931, gentleman Rowland Sinclair is an artist living in Sydney, Australia. The series deals with the political scene of Australia of the time, mixing real historical events and figures with fiction.

Sulari Gentill began her Rowland Sinclair series in 2010 with the novel A Few Right Thinking Men. It is recommended that the series be read in order. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Sulari Gentill’s Rowland Sinclair books in order of when they were first released (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Sulari Gentill releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rowland Sinclair Books

A Few Right Thinking Men / A House Divided(2010)Description / Buy at
A Decline in Prophets(2011)Description / Buy at
Miles Off Course(2012)Description / Buy at
Paving the New Road(2012)Description / Buy at
Gentlemen Formerly Dressed(2013)Description / Buy at
A Murder Unmentioned(2014)Description / Buy at
Give the Devil His Due(2015)Description / Buy at
The Prodigal Son(2016)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Language(2017)Description / Buy at
All the Tears in China / Shanghai Secrets(2019)Description / Buy at
A Testament of Character(2020)Description / Buy at
The Prodigal Son is a prequel.

If You Like Rowland Sinclair Books, You’ll Love…

Rowland Sinclair Synopsis: In Miles Off Course by Sulari Gentill (book 3 of the Rowland Sinclair Mysteries), it is early in 1933, and wealthy bohemian Rowland Sinclair and his companions, a poet, a painter, and a sculptress who also models nude, are ensconced in the superlative luxury of The Hydro Majestic-Medlow Bath, where trouble seems distant, despite Australia’s being roiled by the same political currents as are upending Europe. But Rowland, as much as he’d want to live a different life, can’t dismiss the responsibilities of being a Sinclair. Most of them rest upon his conservative elder brother, Wilfred. And Wil now makes two claims on Rowly. One is to appear at an important upcoming board meeting of a firm where Rowly, pressured by Wil, serves as a director. And the other is to hustle up into the high country where a longtime family stockman appears to have gone missing – and find him. Harry Simpson is an aborigine. The easy answer is that Harry has gone walkabout, but neither Sinclair brother believes this to be true. Plus there are the Sinclair cattle to round up. Instead of saddling up, Rowly insists upon driving his beautiful if despised Mercedes-Benz and taking a posse in the persons of his three live-in friends along. And off they go into a rollicking Outback adventure, where the familiar elements of an American Western blend with gangsters, spies, murder – and a very belligerent writer.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rowland Sinclair Books

Leave a Reply